2023 Sony Open in Hawaii Thursday Round 1: Tee times, TV and streaming schedule, channels
Featured PGA Tour

2023 Sony Open in Hawaii Thursday Round 1: Tee times, TV and streaming schedule, channels

A picture of golfer Billy Horschel

The 2023 Sony Open in Hawaii gets underway on Thursday in Honolulu in Hawaii, with Waialae Country Club once again playing host to the PGA Tour's year-opening full-field event.

With the 144-player event unfolding in Hawaii, that means the East Coast of the United States will get to enjoy some primetime golf to start the new year. For the players competing, however, it means tee times at typical PGA Tour times.

The action will get underway at 7:10 a.m. local time -- or 12:10 p.m. Eastern time -- with threesomes off both the first and 10th tees. The groups will go off in threesomes off both tees until 9 a.m. local, when the morning wave stops. The afternoon wave picks up at 11:50 a.m. and goes through 1:40 p.m.

Golf fans can start watching the tournament live at 12 p.m. Eastern time, when PGA Tour Live on ESPN+ starts their brief preview before getting right into the golf action with four channels of coverage that goes until approximately 10:30 p.m. Eastern. You must be subscribed to ESPN+ to watch PGA Tour Live.

If you're planning on watch the PGA Tour on TV on Thursday, Golf Channel is where you'll need to go. Golf Channel has exclusive coverage of the 2023 Sony Open in Hawaii first round, and their coverage starts at 7 p.m. Eastern time and goes until 10:30 p.m. You'll need to either have a cable subscription or sign up with a streaming service that has Golf Channel. All Golf Channel subscribers can also stream the network's coverage on Peacock, as well as the NBC Sports app or website.

2023 Sony Open in Hawaii first-round tee times

All times local; add five hours for Eastern

Click header to sort

7:10 a.m. 1 Brendan Steele, John Huh, Matthias Schwab
7:20 a.m. 1 Michael Kim, Parker McLachlin, Doc Redman
7:30 a.m. 1 Andrew Putnam, K.J. Choi, Mark Hubbard
7:40 a.m. 1 Stewart Cink, Si Woo Kim, Jim Herman
7:50 a.m. 1 Adam Svensson, Harris English, Michael Thompson
8:00 a.m. 1 J.J. Spaun, Ryan Brehm, Webb Simpson
8:10 a.m. 1 Ryan Moore, Sam Ryder, Max McGreevy
8:20 a.m. 1 Nate Lashley, Scott Piercy, Brandon Wu
8:30 a.m. 1 Kevin Yu, MJ Daffue, Vincent Norrman
8:40 a.m. 1 Trevor Cone, Kevin Roy, Kohei Okada -a
8:50 a.m. 1 Dylan Wu, Carson Young, Danny Guise
9:00 a.m. 1 Harry Hall, Kyle Westmoreland, Yuto Katsuragawa
11:50 a.m. 1 Peter Malnati, Denny McCarthy, Kurt Kitayama
12:00 p.m. 1 Patton Kizzire, David Lingmerth, Hayden Buckley
12:10 p.m. 1 Brice Garnett, Ryan Armour, Stephan Jaeger
12:20 p.m. 1 Robert Streb, Richy Werenski, Nick Taylor
12:30 p.m. 1 Keegan Bradley, Tom Kim, Mackenzie Hughes
12:40 p.m. 1 Hideki Matsuyama, Sungjae Im, Adam Scott
12:50 p.m. 1 Corey Conners, Rory Sabbatini, Jerry Kelly
1:00 p.m. 1 Nick Hardy, Ben Taylor, Harrison Endycott
1:10 p.m. 1 Taylor Montgomery, Carl Yuan, Taiga Semikawa
1:20 p.m. 1 Ben Griffin, Augusto Núñez, Keita Nakajima
1:30 p.m. 1 Harry Higgs, Will Gordon, Kazuki Higa
1:40 p.m. 1 S.H. Kim, Anders Albertson, George Markham
7:10 a.m. 10 Troy Merritt, Kyle Stanley, Christiaan Bezuidenhout
7:20 a.m. 10 Emiliano Grillo, Chesson Hadley, Alex Smalley
7:30 a.m. 10 Chris Kirk, Maverick McNealy, Kelly Kraft
7:40 a.m. 10 Chad Ramey, Lucas Glover, Cam Davis
7:50 a.m. 10 Russell Henley, Tom Hoge, Matt Kuchar
8:00 a.m. 10 Billy Horschel, Jordan Spieth, Zach Johnson
8:10 a.m. 10 Brian Harman, Russell Knox, Austin Smotherman
8:20 a.m. 10 Adam Schenk, Zac Blair, Kramer Hickok
8:30 a.m. 10 Justin Suh, Eric Cole, Matti Schmid
8:40 a.m. 10 Erik Barnes, Sam Stevens, Cole Hammer
8:50 a.m. 10 Davis Thompson, Tano Goya, Kaito Onishi
9:00 a.m. 10 Paul Haley II, Trevor Werbylo, Austen Truslow
11:50 a.m. 10 Kevin Tway, Aaron Baddeley, Brian Stuard
12:00 p.m. 10 Ryan Palmer, Kevin Streelman, Aaron Rai
12:10 p.m. 10 Keith Mitchell, Jimmy Walker, Byeong Hun An
12:20 p.m. 10 K.H. Lee, Tyler Duncan, Gary Woodland
12:30 p.m. 10 Chez Reavie, J.T. Poston, Brendon Todd
12:40 p.m. 10 Danny Lee, David Lipsky, Greyson Sigg
12:50 p.m. 10 Adam Long, Austin Cook, Ben Martin
1:00 p.m. 10 Joseph Bramlett, Zecheng Dou, Brandon Matthews
1:10 p.m. 10 Michael Gligic, Nico Echavarria, Jesse Mueller
1:20 p.m. 10 Robby Shelton, Andrew Novak, Joseph Winslow
1:30 p.m. 10 Scott Harrington, Brent Grant, Michael Castillo
1:40 p.m. 10 Tyson Alexander, Austin Eckroat, Blaze Akana -a

January 5 TV schedule

All times Eastern

  • Thursday, January 5: 7-10:30 p.m. on Golf Channel

January 5 Streaming schedule

All times Eastern

  • Thursday, January 5: 12-10:30 p.m. on ESPN+, 7-10:30 p.m. on Peacock

About the author


Ryan Ballengee

Ryan Ballengee is founder and editor of Golf News Net. He has been writing and broadcasting about golf for nearly 20 years. Ballengee lives in the Washington, D.C. area with his family. He is a scratch golfer...sometimes.

Ballengee can be reached by email at ryan[at]thegolfnewsnet.com

Ryan occasionally links to merchants of his choosing, and GNN may earn a commission from sales generated by those links. See more in GNN's affiliate disclosure.