2015 Open Championship: Who's in the field, exemptions and qualifiers
Open Championship

2015 Open Championship: Who’s in the field, exemptions and qualifiers


Golf's oldest major returns to the Home of Golf in 2015. The Open Championship will be played July 16-19 at the Old Course at St. Andrews in St. Andrews, Scotland. Louis Oosthuizen last won the Open here in 2010, with Tiger Woods winning the prior two times before that in 2000 and '05.

Rory McIlroy is defending champion from Royal Liverpool last year, while Jordan Spieth is going for a third-straight major win, becoming the first since Ben Hogan in 1953 to accomplish the feat.

RELATED: 2015 British Open 1st and 2nd round tee times | 2015 British Open betting odds

Here's a look at the 2015 British Open Championship field, exemptions and how they qualified:

1. Former Open champions under the age of 60 as of July 19, 2015: Mark Calcavecchia, Stewart Cink, Darren Clarke, Ben Curtis, John Daly, David Duval, Ernie Els, Nick Faldo, Todd Hamilton, Padraig Harrington, Paul Lawrie, Tom Lehman, Justin Leonard, Sandy Lyle, Rory McIlroy, Phil Mickelson, Mark O'Meara, Louis Oosthizen, Tiger Woods

2. The last 10 Open Championship winners

3. Open champions finishing in a tie for 10th place or better from 2009-14: Tom Watson

4. Top 10 finishers and ties from 2014 Open Championship: Victor Dubuisson, Rickie Fowler, Jim Furyk, Sergio Garcia, Marc Leishman, Shane Lowry, Graeme McDowell, Edoardo Molinari, Charl Schwartzel, Adam Scott

5. The top 50 in the Official World Golf Ranking as of Week 21 in 2015, as well additional exemptions: Keegan Bradley, Paul Casey, Jason Day, Jamie Donaldson, Matt Every, Branden Grace, Bill Haas, J.B. Holmes, Billy Horschel, Thongchai Jaidee, Miguel Angel Jimenez, Dustin Johnson, Zach Johnson, Martin Kaymer, Chris Kirk Kevin Streelman, Brooks Koepka, Matt Kuchar, Joost Luiten, Hunter Mahan, Ben Martin, Hideki Matsuyama, Ryan Moore, Kevin Na, Ryan Palmer, Ian Poutler, Patrick Reed, Justin Rose, Webb Simpson, Brandt Snedeker, Jordan Spieth, Henrik Stenson, Brendon Todd, Jimmy Walker, Bubba Watson, Lee Westwood, Bernd Wiesberger, Danny Willett, Gary Woodland; ADDED July 29: Francesco Molinari, Matt Jones, Tim Clark Richie Ramsay, David Lingmerth, Harris English, Daniel Berger

6. The top 30 in the 2014 Race to Dubai final standings: Thomas Bjorn, Jonas Blixt, George Coetzee, Ross Fisher, Tommy Fleetwood, Stephen Gallacher, Mikko Ilonen, Pablo Larrazabal, Alexander Levy, Marcel Siem, Marc Warren, Romain Wattel

7. The last three winners of the BMW PGA Championship: Byeong-Hun An, Matteo Manassero

8. First 5 European Tour members, not otherwise exempt, in the top 20 of the Race to Dubai after the 2015 BMW International Open: Kiradech Aphibarnrat, Alex Noren Hiroshi Iwata, Anirban Lahiri, Soren Kjeldsen, Andy Sullivan

9. The last 5 U.S. Open champions

10. The last 5 Masters champions

11. The last 5 PGA Champions: Jason Dufner

12. The last 3 Players champions

13. The 30 players to qualify for the 2014 Tour Championship: Russell Henley, Morgan Hoffmann, Geoff Ogilvy, John Senden, Cameron Tringale

14. First 5 PGA Tour members and any PGA TOUR members tying for 5th place, not already exempt, in the top 20 of the PGA Tour's 2014-15 FedExCup points list after the 2015 Travelers Championship: Charley Hoffman, Kevin Kisner, Robert Streb, Steven Bowditch

15. The members of the American and European 2014 Ryder Cup teams

16. The winner of the 2014 Asian Tour Order of Merit: David Lipsky

17. The winner of the 2014 Australasian Tour Order of Merit: Greg Chalmers

18. The winner of the 2014 Sunshine Tour Order of Merit: Thomas Aiken

19. The 2014 Japan Open winner: Yuta Ikeda

20. The top two players from the 2014 Japan Tour Order of Merit: Hiroyuki Fujita, Koumei Oda

21. First 2, not already exempt, in the Japan Tour Order of Merit through the 2015 Japan Tour Championship: Adam Bland, Liang Wen-Chong

22. The 2014 Senior Open Champion: Bernhard Langer

23. The 2015 Amateur Champion: Romain Langasque

24. The 2014 U.S. Amateur Champion: Gunn Yang

25. The 2014 International European Amateur Champion: Ashley Chesters

26. The 2014 Mark H. McCormack Medal winner: Oliver Schneiderjans

2015 Open Qualifying Series

27. Top 3 players, not already exempt, in the top 10 from the 2014 Emirates Australian Open: Rod Pampling, Brett Rumford

28. Top 4 players, not already exempt, in the top 12 from the 2014 Thailand Golf Championship: Marcus Fraser, Scott Hend, Jonathan Moore

29. Top 3 players, not already exempt, in the top 10 from the 2015 Joburg Open: David Howell, Anthony Wall

30. Top 4 players, not already exempt, in the top 12 from the 2015 Mizuno Open: Scott Strange, Tadahiro Takayama, Taichi Teshima, Shinji Tomimura

31. Top 3 players, not already exempt, in the top 10 from the 2015 Irish Open: Tyrrell Hatton, Eddie Pepperell

32. Top 3 players, not already exempt, in the top 10 from the 2015 Open de France: James Morrison, Jaco Van Zyl, Rafael Cabrera-Bello

33. Top 3 players, not already exempt, in the top 10 from the 2015 Aberdeen Asset Management Scottish Open: Raphael Jacquelin, Daniel Brooks, Rikard Karlberg

34. Top 4 players, not already exempt, in the top 12 from the 2015 Travelers Championship: Luke Donald, Brian Harman, Graham DeLaet, Carl Pettersson

35. Top 4 players, not already exempt, in the top 12 from the 2015 Greenbrier Classic: David Hearn, Danny Lee, James Hahn, Greg Owen

36. Top 1 player, not already exempt, in the top 5 from the 2015 John Deere Clasic: Tom Gillis

2015 Final Open Qualifying (June 30)

37. Top 3 players from Gailes Links: Mark Young, Paul Kinnear (a), Ryan Fox

38. Top 3 players from Hillside: Scott Arnold, Jordan Niebrugge (a), Pelle Edberg

39. Top 3 players from Royal Cinque Ports: Alister Balcombe, Ben Taylor, Gary Boyd

40. Top 3 players from Woburn: Paul Dunne (a), Retief Goosen, Robert Dinwiddle

About the author

Ryan Ballengee

Ryan Ballengee is founder and editor of Golf News Net. He has been writing and broadcasting about golf for nearly 20 years. Ballengee lives in the Washington, D.C. area with his family. He is currently a +2.6 USGA handicap, and he has covered dozens of major championships and professional golf tournaments. He likes writing about golf and making it more accessible by answering the complex questions fans have about the pro game or who want to understand how to play golf better.

Ryan talks about golf on various social platforms:

X or Twitter: https://twitter.com/ryanballengee
Facebook: https://facebook.com/ryanballengeegolf
Instagram: https://instagram.com/ryanballengee
YouTube: https://youtube.com/@ryanballengeegolf

Ballengee can be reached by email at ryan[at]thegolfnewsnet.com

Ryan occasionally links to merchants of his choosing, and GNN may earn a commission from sales generated by those links. See more in GNN's affiliate disclosure.

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment