19: Not majors, but Tiger Woods' Presidents & Ryder Cup partners
PGA Tour Ryder Cup Tiger Woods News

19: Not majors, but Tiger Woods’ Presidents & Ryder Cup partners

Tiger Woods will play on Thursday with the 19th partner his team-match career when he tees off with Matt Kuchar in a fourball match in the opening session of the Presidents Cup.

Kuchar is the 10th player to team with Woods in the Presidents Cup, in which Woods has a record-sharing 20 wins in his seven previous appearances in the biennial match pitting the United States against any country outside of Europe.

Here's a look at Woods record with every partner he has ever had in the Presidents and Ryder Cups.

Player Years Event Record
Mark O'Meara 1997 RC 1-2-0
Justin Leonard 1997 RC 0-0-1
Justin Leonard 1998 PC 0-1-0
John Huston 1998 PC 0-1-0
Tom Lehman 1999 RC 0-1-0
David Duval 1999 RC 0-1-0
Steve Pate 1999 RC 1-1-0
Notah Begay III 2000 PC 2-2-0
Paul Azinger 2002 RC 0-1-0
Mark Calcavecchia 2002 RC 0-1-0
Phil Mickelson 2004 RC 0-2-0
Chris Riley 2004 RC 1-0-0
Jim Furyk 2006 RC 2-2-0
David Toms 2007 PC 1-0-0
Steve Stricker 2009 PC 4-1-0
Dustin Johnson 2011 PC 1-2-0
Fred Couples 1998, 2005 PC 1-2-0
Davis Love III 2002, 2004 RC 3-0-0
Charles Howell III 2003, 2007 PC 3-2-0
Jim Furyk 2005, 2007 PC 3-1-1
Steve Stricker 2010, 2012 RC 3-3-0

In the Presidents Cup, Woods is only undefeated with David Toms, with whom he played one match in 2007 at Royal Montreal. He has a winning record with only three other players: Steve Stricker (4-1 in 2009), Charles Howell III (3-2-0 split between 2003, 2007) and Jim Furyk (3-1-1 split between 2005, 2007).

By comparison, Phil Mickelson has been on American teams since 1995 and has 19 different partners, too.

Corey Pavin
Jay Haas
Davis Love III
Tom Lehman
David Duval
Jim Furyk
David Toms
Tiger Woods
Chris DiMarco
Anthony Kim
Hunter Mahan
Keegan Bradley
Dustin Johnson
Rickie Fowler
Fred Funk
Woody Austin
Hunter Mahan
Justin Leonard
Sean O'Hair

Ernie Els, who has been a part of almost every Presidents Cup, has had nine:

Mark McNulty
Greg Norman
Vijay Singh
Nick Price
Tim Clark
Adam Scott
Angel Cabrera
Mike Weir
Ryo Ishikawa

About the author


Ryan Ballengee

Ryan Ballengee is founder and editor of Golf News Net. He has been writing and broadcasting about golf for over a decade, working for NBC Sports, Golf Channel, Yahoo Sports and SB Nation. Ballengee lives in the Washington, D.C. area with his family. He used to be a good golfer.

Ballengee can be reached by email at ryan[at]thegolfnewsnet.com

Ryan occasionally links to merchants of his choosing, and GNN may earn a commission from sales generated by those links. See more in GNN's affiliate disclosure.

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment