PGA Championship: Pettersson may be penalized for moving impediment in hazard
PGA Championship PGA Tour

PGA Championship: [Updated] Pettersson penalized for moving impediment in hazard


SHARE THIS STORY

Carl Pettersson took a two-shot penalty on the first hole of the final round of the PGA Championship for moving a loose impediment in a hazard.

The Swede hit his opening tee shot into a lateral (red stake) hazard, meaning he could not ground his club as he was preparing to strike his approach to the green.

CBS television cameras, however, spotted Pettersson evidently moving a leaf in the hazard with his backswing. A player can move a loose impediment, such as a leaf, on the downswing, but not otherwise.



After reviewing the footage, officials agreed the leaf was moved. Official David Price told Pettersson at the fourth hole he would be penalized two shots under Rule 13-4(c) under the Rules of Golf.


Without the penalty, Pettersson recorded a par 4. Instead, he now has a double bogey.

SUBSCRIBE & WIN A TEAM USA BRIDGESTONE GOLF PACK!

New subscribers to our weekly email newsletter* in September will be entered to win USA headcover set and 3 dozen Tour B golf balls of your choice! (Rules and regulations)


About the author

Ryan Ballengee

Ryan Ballengee is founder and editor of Golf News Net. He has been writing and broadcasting about golf for over a decade, working for NBC Sports, Golf Channel, Yahoo Sports and SB Nation. Ballengee lives in the Washington, D.C. area with his family. He used to be a good golfer.

Ballengee can be reached by email at ryan[at]thegolfnewsnet.com

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment