PGA Championship: Joost Luiten penalized for a double hit
PGA Championship PGA Tour

PGA Championship: Joost Luiten penalized for a double hit



Dutchman Joost Luiten was penalized during the Sunday completion of the third round of the PGA Championship for double-hitting a putt.

As Luiten was trying to clean up a tap-in putt at the 16th hole, he struck the ball while gripping the putter with one hand. After striking the ball the heel of the putter scuffed the ground, causing the blade to hit the ball again.

Under Rule 14-4 of the Rules of Golf, Luiten was required to count the first stroke, then add a penalty stroke. He assessed the penalty on himself after reviewing video evidence following the round, but before signing his scorecard.

In the end, he correctly signed for 3-over 75. He trails Rory McIlroy by 10 shots entering the final round.

About the author

Avatar

Ryan Ballengee

Ryan Ballengee is founder and editor of Golf News Net. He has been writing and broadcasting about golf for over a decade, working for NBC Sports, Golf Channel, Yahoo Sports and SB Nation. Ballengee lives in the Washington, D.C. area with his family. He used to be a good golfer.

Ballengee can be reached by email at ryan[at]thegolfnewsnet.com

Ryan occasionally links to merchants of his choosing, and GNN may earn a commission from sales generated by those links. See more in GNN's affiliate disclosure.

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

What Viktor Hovland’s lost golf clubs can teach us about traveling with sticks Vokey SM9 wedges revealed this week on the PGA Tour Trump, PGA of America settle over cancelled PGA Championship The one thing Tiger Woods will never do in a golf tournament The new TaylorMade Stealth driver hits the USGA conforming list