Darren Clarke angry after USGA penalized him two strokes for caddie moving a birdhouse
Champions Tour Suggested Links

Darren Clarke angry after USGA penalized him two strokes for caddie moving a birdhouse

A photo of golfer Darren Clarke

Darren Clarke was an unhappy camper on Thursday in the first round of the 2019 US Senior Open when USGA officials told the 2011 Open champion he was being hit with a two-stroke penalty.

The reason? Clarke's caddie was seen trying to move a birdhouse on the host Warren Golf Course.

Clarke was talking with an official on the 10th hole of his round, when Clarke's caddie walks ahead and starts trying to wiggle free a birdhouse staked on the course at the University of Notre Dame in Indiana. Clarke's caddie mistakenly believed the birdhouse was treated like a movable obstruction that can be removed and moved in the event it is in the way of a player's line. However, the birdhouse is considered an immovable obstruction because it is a permanent fixture on the course. Under Rule 16-1 of the Rules of Golf, a player can only take relief from such an immovable obstruction when the object interferes with a player's ability to take a stance or swing the club -- not the intended line of play (except on the green).

Since Clarke's caddie violated the rule, Clarke is deemed himself to have violated the rule. The penalty is two strokes.

USGA officials told Clarke of the penalty later in the round, turning a bogey 5 into a triple-bogey 7. He was not happy to receive the news.

About the author

Ryan Ballengee

Ryan Ballengee is founder and editor of Golf News Net. He has been writing and broadcasting about golf for nearly 20 years. Ballengee lives in the Washington, D.C. area with his family. He is currently a +2.6 USGA handicap, and he has covered dozens of major championships and professional golf tournaments. He likes writing about golf and making it more accessible by answering the complex questions fans have about the pro game or who want to understand how to play golf better.

Ryan talks about golf on various social platforms:

X or Twitter: https://twitter.com/ryanballengee
Facebook: https://facebook.com/ryanballengeegolf
Instagram: https://instagram.com/ryanballengee
YouTube: https://youtube.com/@ryanballengeegolf

Ballengee can be reached by email at ryan[at]thegolfnewsnet.com

Ryan occasionally links to merchants of his choosing, and GNN may earn a commission from sales generated by those links. See more in GNN's affiliate disclosure.