Dustin Johnson penalized two shots for playing wrong ball at Tournament of Champions
PGA Tour

Dustin Johnson penalized two shots for playing wrong ball at Tournament of Champions

rbc heritage pick prediction

Dustin Johnson was assessed the first PGA Tour penalty strokes of the year on Friday in the second round of the 2019 Sentry Tournament of Champions.

However, none of the numerous new Rules of Golf precipitated Johnson's penalty. He was penalized when he hit the wrong ball from a hazard on the par-4 fourth hole at Kapalua Resort's Plantation Course.

According to Golf Channel, Johnson received bad information from a volunteer marshal as to where his ball was in the hazard. Johnson then played the ball he found. Once he realized his error, he learned his ball was approximately 10 yards closer to the hole than the marshal suggested. Unfortunately, under the Rules of Golf -- the immediately prior version and the present -- a golfer is penalized two strokes when hitting the wrong ball.

Johnson asked a PGA Tour rules official if he could avoid penalty by playing his original ball once he found it. He could not. However, under the Rules of Golf before 2008 (the Rules are changed in four-year cycles that trail Presidential elections by a year), players were not penalized for hitting the wrong ball from a hazard.

Ultimately, Johnson made a double-bogey 6 and dropped at that point to 3 over par on his round after an opening 6-under 67.

About the author


Ryan Ballengee

Ryan Ballengee is founder and editor of Golf News Net. He has been writing and broadcasting about golf for over a decade, working for NBC Sports, Golf Channel, Yahoo Sports and SB Nation. Ballengee lives in the Washington, D.C. area with his family. He used to be a good golfer.

Ballengee can be reached by email at ryan[at]thegolfnewsnet.com

Ryan occasionally links to merchants of his choosing, and GNN may earn a commission from sales generated by those links. See more in GNN's affiliate disclosure.