Who's in the 2016 Masters field and how to qualify

Who’s in the 2016 Masters field and how to qualify


Who's in the 2016 Masters field? The field for the year's first major, with this year's dates April 7-10, is determined by invitation only and those invites from Augusta National Golf Club are given to players who meet any of 18 different criteria.

Players for the Masters get an invitation through these categories:

  1. Former winners of The Masters -- Jordan Spieth, Adam Scott, Bubba Watson, Charl Schwartzel, Phil Mickelson, Angel Cabrera, Trevor Immelman, Zach Johnson, Tiger Woods (will not play), Mike Weir, Vijay Singh, Jose Maria Olazabal (will not play), Mark O'Meara, Bernhard Langer, Fred Couples, Ian Woosnam, Sandy Lyle, Larry Mize, Tom Watson (final Masters appearance)
  2. Winners of the last five U.S. Opens -- Martin Kaymer, Justin Rose, Webb Simpson, Rory McIlroy
  3. Winners of the last five British Opens -- Ernie Els, Darren Clarke
  4. Winners of the last five PGA Championships -- Jason Day, Jason Dufner, Keegan Bradley
  5. Winners of the last three Players Championships -- Rickie Fowler
  6. Winner and runner-up from the last U.S. Amateur Championship -- Bryson DeChambeau, Derek Bard
  7. Winner of the last British Amateur Championship -- Romain Langasque
  8. Winner of the last Asia-Pacific Amateur Championship -- Cheng Jin
  9. Winner of the last Latin America Amateur Championship -- Paul Chaplet
  10. Winner of the last U.S. Mid-Amateur Championship -- Sammy Schmitz
  11. The top 12 finishers (including ties) from last year's Masters tournament -- Hideki Matsuyama, Paul Casey, Ian Poulter, Dustin Johnson, Hunter Mahan, Charley Hoffman, Ryan Moore, Bill Haas, Kevin Streelman, Kevin Na
  12. The top 4 finishers (including ties), from last year's U.S. Open -- Louis Oosthuizen, Cameron Smith, Branden Grace
  13. The top 4 finishers (including ties) from last year's British Open -- Marc Leishman
  14. The top 4 finishers (including ties) from last year's PGA Championship -- All otherwise qualified
  15. Full PGA Tour event winners since 2015 Masters -- Jim Furyk, Chris Kirk, Steven Bowditch, David Lingmerth, Fabian Gomez, Danny Lee, Troy Merritt, Shane Lowry, Davis Love III, Emiliano Grillo, Smylie Kaufman, Justin Thomas, Russell Knox, Peter Malnati, Graeme McDowell, Kevin Kisner, Jim Herman
  16. All players who qualified for the 2015 Tour Championship -- Henrik Stenson, J.B. Holmes, Sangmoon Bae (will not play), Daniel Berger, Brooks Koepka, Robert Streb, Jimmy Walker, Harris English, Brandt Snedeker, Scott Piercy, Patrick Reed, Vaughn Taylor
  17. The Top 50 in the Official World Golf Ranking at the end of 2015 -- Sergio Garcia, Danny Willett, Thongchai Jaidee, Byeong Hun An, Bernd Wiesberger, Victor Dubuisson, Andy Sullivan, Kiradech Aphibarnrat, Anirban Lahiri, Billy Horschel, Matthew Fitzpatrick, Chris Wood, Soren Kjeldsen, Jamie Donaldson, Lee Westwood
  18. The Top 50 in the Official World Golf Ranking published the week before the Masters -- Rafael Cabrera-Bello

About the author

Ryan Ballengee

Ryan Ballengee is founder and editor of Golf News Net. He has been writing and broadcasting about golf for nearly 20 years. Ballengee lives in the Washington, D.C. area with his family. He is currently a +2.6 USGA handicap, and he has covered dozens of major championships and professional golf tournaments. He likes writing about golf and making it more accessible by answering the complex questions fans have about the pro game or who want to understand how to play golf better.

Ryan talks about golf on various social platforms:

X or Twitter: https://twitter.com/ryanballengee
Facebook: https://facebook.com/ryanballengeegolf
Instagram: https://instagram.com/ryanballengee
YouTube: https://youtube.com/@ryanballengeegolf

Ballengee can be reached by email at ryan[at]thegolfnewsnet.com

Ryan occasionally links to merchants of his choosing, and GNN may earn a commission from sales generated by those links. See more in GNN's affiliate disclosure.