Which states have hosted the U.S. Open & how many times?
U.S. Open

Which states have hosted the U.S. Open & how many times?

The U.S. Open has only ever been played in 17 states, meaning 33 states have never hosted the national championship. (Two more states — Washington and Wisconsin — will be checked off in the coming years.)

Here’s a look at the states which have hosted the U.S. Open and how many times they’ve done it.

Or, in list format:

NY – 18
PA – 16
IL – 13
CA – 12
MA – 10
NJ – 8
OH – 7
MI – 6
MD – 5
MN – 4
NC – 3
OK – 3
CO – 3
TX – 3
MO – 2
GA – 1
RI – 1

About the author


Ryan Ballengee

Ryan Ballengee is founder and editor of Golf News Net. He has been writing and broadcasting about golf for over a decade, working for NBC Sports, Golf Channel, Yahoo Sports and SB Nation. Ballengee lives in the Washington, D.C. area with his family. He used to be a good golfer.

Ballengee can be reached by email at ryan[at]thegolfnewsnet.com

Ryan occasionally links to merchants of his choosing, and GNN may earn a commission from sales generated by those links. See more in GNN's affiliate disclosure.


Click here to post a comment

For all of our latest deals, see our GNN Deals site!