Not America, not Australia: Korea notches for PGA Tour win of '14
PGA Tour

Not America, not Australia: Korea notches for PGA Tour win of ’14

Until Sunday, only Americans and Australians (including an Australian who married an American) had won on the PGA Tour during the 2013-14 season.

Seung-yul Noh ended that streak at 23 events. Noh, from Korea, became the first player born outside of those two countries to win this season on the PGA Tour.

So far, 19 tournaments had been won by Americans, with four Aussies (Jason Day, John Senden, Steven Bowditch, Matt Jones) taking titles in the first 23 tournaments of the season. A total of 16 Americans have won tournaments, with Jimmy Walker already boasting three titles on the year and Patrick Reed taking a pair.

The last time the first 24 PGA Tour events could be claimed by just three or fewer countries? 1992. The U.S. had 23 PGA Tour wins, with Austrlia's Steve Elkington owning the other -- the season opener..

About the author


Ryan Ballengee

Ryan Ballengee is founder and editor of Golf News Net. He has been writing and broadcasting about golf for over a decade, working for NBC Sports, Golf Channel, Yahoo Sports and SB Nation. Ballengee lives in the Washington, D.C. area with his family. He used to be a good golfer.

Ballengee can be reached by email at ryan[at]

Ryan occasionally links to merchants of his choosing, and GNN may earn a commission from sales generated by those links. See more in GNN's affiliate disclosure.

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment