PGA Championship: Rory McIlroy's ball got stuck in a tree
PGA Championship Rory McIlroy News

PGA Championship: Rory McIlroy’s ball got stuck in a tree

Earlier in the PGA Championship, Rory McIlroy struck a fan with his golf ball.

At the par-4 third hole in Saturday's third round, McIlroy's ball struck a tree - and stayed in it.

McIlroy's tee shot embedded in a rotting tree. McIlroy and PGA of America officials were trying to find the ball, but couldn't because it was stuck in a tree. Eventually, and within the five-minute time limit, it was pointed out the ball had embedded in the tree.

Since Rory found the ball and could identify it as his, he was able to take an unplayable lie away from the tree with a one-stroke penalty under Rule 28 in the Rules of Golf.

The world No. 3 then hit his third shot to within 15 feet of the pin and sank the par putt to escape without damage on the scorecard.

About the author


Ryan Ballengee

Ryan Ballengee is founder and editor of Golf News Net. He has been writing and broadcasting about golf for over a decade, working for NBC Sports, Golf Channel, Yahoo Sports and SB Nation. Ballengee lives in the Washington, D.C. area with his family. He used to be a good golfer.

Ballengee can be reached by email at ryan[at]

Ryan occasionally links to merchants of his choosing, and GNN may earn a commission from sales generated by those links. See more in GNN's affiliate disclosure.

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment