2019 Presidents Cup field: Who's on the American and International teams?
Presidents Cup

2019 Presidents Cup field: Who’s on the American and International teams?

The 2019 Presidents Cup field is set with the passing of team selection deadlines, as well the withdrawal window. The field is set for this event, played at the Royal Melbourne Golf Club in Melbourne, Australia.

The Presidents Cup field is headlined by American captain Tiger Woods and International captain Ernie Els. Both legends are making their debuts as captains in any big-stage event.

Tiger Woods is a playing captain on his American team, becoming the first player since Hale Irwin in the inaugural Presidents Cup in 1994 to be a playing captain representing a team in either the Ryder Cup or Presidents Cup. Arnold Palmer was the last man to do it for the American side in the Ryder Cup, back in 1963.

Ernie Els is looking to stem a tide of International team losses dating back to 1998. In this 13th playing of the Presidents Cup, the '98 win at Royal Melbourne and the agreed-to tie in 2003 in South Africa represent the only two times the Americans have not won out right.

World No. 1 Brooks Koepka withdrew from the event, replaced on the team by Rickie Fowler.

Original Els captain's pick Jason Day withdrew from the event with a back injury, with Els selecting Byeong-hun An to replace him.

The matches will unfold over four days, with Thursday and Friday seeing a single five-match session each day. On Saturday, there will be a morning and afternoon session, each consisting of four matches. On Sunday, there will be 12 singles matches. The first team to win a majority of the 30 available points will win.

2019 Presidents Cup field

American Presidents Cup team

Captain: Tiger Woods (playing captain)
Assistants: Fred Couples, Zach Johnson, Steve Stricker

  • Patrick Cantlay
  • Bryson DeChambeau
  • Tony Finau
  • Rickie Fowler
  • Dustin Johnson
  • Matt Kuchar
  • Patrick Reed
  • Xander Schauffele
  • Webb Simpson
  • Justin Thomas
  • Gary Woodland
  • Tiger Woods

International Presidents Cup team

Captain: Ernie Els
Assistants: Mike Weir, KJ Choi, Trevor Immelman

  • Byeong-hun An
  • Abraham Ancer
  • Adam Hadwin
  • Sungjae Im
  • Haotong Li
  • Marc Leishman
  • Hideki Matsuyama
  • Joaquin Niemann
  • Louis Oosthuizen
  • CT Pan
  • Adam Scott
  • Cameron Smith

About the author


Golf News Net

We use the Golf News Net byline sometimes just to change things up. But, it's one of us humans writing the story, we promise.

Sometimes we post sponsored content from this account, and it is labeled as such.

We also occasionally include links to products and services from merchants of our choice. GNN may earn a commission from sales generated by those links. See more in GNN's affiliate disclosure.

What Viktor Hovland’s lost golf clubs can teach us about traveling with sticks Vokey SM9 wedges revealed this week on the PGA Tour Trump, PGA of America settle over cancelled PGA Championship The one thing Tiger Woods will never do in a golf tournament The new TaylorMade Stealth driver hits the USGA conforming list