Why you can't ground your club in a sand bunker on the golf course
Uncategorized

Why you can’t ground your club in a sand bunker on the golf course

El Camaleon features several cenote bunkers.

SHARE THIS STORY



If you've played golf, you've been in a sand trap. They're unavoidable for most every golfer. And if you're relatively new to golf, you've no doubt heard a more-experienced golfer tell you that you can't ground your club in a bunker. You've also probably been told it's a penalty if your club touches the sand in a trap.

But why? In one sense, it seems silly you can't ground your club wherever you want on the golf course. I mean, what's the difference? However, if you're willing to follow the logic of the Rules of Golf, there's a perfectly reasonable explanation for why a golfer can't ground their club in a sand bunker.



Under the Rules of Golf, a bunker is considered a hazard (soon to be known in 2019 forever more as a "penalty area"), in the same company as water. Golfers are prohibited from doing three things in hazards:

  1. Testing the condition of a hazard; i.e., figuring out if the ground is soft, fluffy, wet, dry, etc.
  2. Touch the ground or water in a hazard with their hand or golf club
  3. Touch or move loose impediments lying in or touching the hazard

As such, a golfer is prohibited from grounding their club in the sand in a bunker because it's considered a hazard.

The penalty, then, for grounding your club in a hazard is two strokes in a medal-play event or a loss of hole in a match-play event.

Beginning in 2019, however, golfers will be able to move loose impediments in the sand to keep a golfer from hitting rocks and sticks and twigs in a bunker. Golfers will also be able to declare an unplayable lie in a bunker and remove the ball from the bunker and drop it outside of the bunker with a two-stroke penalty.


SUBSCRIBE AND WIN PEAKVISION SUNGLASSES!

New subscribers to our weekly email newsletter from October 15 through December 15 will be entered to win a pair of PeakVision sunglasses of their choice! PeakVision's Dual Zone technology prevents glare while offering unparalleled clarity that's perfect for golfers. The patented PeakVision lens enhances the golfer's ability to see the contours of the greens better with high-definition amber lens which provide three times the definition than the naked eye, and we want you to experience the difference for yourself. (Rules and regulations)


About the author

Golf News Net

Golf News Net

We use the Golf News Net byline sometimes just to change things up. But, it's one of us humans writing the story, we promise.

Sometimes we post sponsored content from this account, and it is labeled as such. We also occasionally include links to products and services from which we could make a small percentage of a sale through affiliate programs.