Why did Sergio Garcia's 10th hole score go from 5 to 7 in Masters 2nd round?
Masters

Why did Sergio Garcia’s 10th hole score go from 5 to 7 in Masters 2nd round?

Credit: Getty Images

SHARE THIS STORY



Sergio Garcia came to the 10th tee at Augusta National Golf Club in the second round of the 2017 Masters with the lead at 4 under par. Then he played the 10th hole, and, initially, he had made a bogey to drop out of the lead.

Then, suddenly, Garcia's score on the 10th hole went from 5 to 7, meaning he incurred some kind of extra two strokes. However, it appears that was done in error, with Garcia truly scoring a bogey on the hole.



From journalists on the ground, Garcia hit an errant shot that might have caused an issue.


The assumption was Garcia was assessed some kind of penalty, but his playing the hole wasn't aired on Masters streaming coverage or television, and Garcia's playing of the 10th hole isn't showed on the Masters website's tracking feature. However, holes before and after the 10th were.

SUBSCRIBE AND WIN PEAKVISION SUNGLASSES!

New subscribers to our weekly email newsletter from October 15 through December 15 will be entered to win a pair of PeakVision sunglasses of their choice! PeakVision's Dual Zone technology prevents glare while offering unparalleled clarity that's perfect for golfers. The patented PeakVision lens enhances the golfer's ability to see the contours of the greens better with high-definition amber lens which provide three times the definition than the naked eye, and we want you to experience the difference for yourself. (Rules and regulations)


About the author

Golf News Net

Golf News Net

We use the Golf News Net byline sometimes just to change things up. But, it's one of us humans writing the story, we promise.

Sometimes we post sponsored content from this account, and it is labeled as such. We also occasionally include links to products and services from which we could make a small percentage of a sale through affiliate programs.