Zach Johnson missed cut at Masters after penalty strokes added post-round

Zach Johnson missed cut at Masters after penalty strokes added post-round


Zach Johnson appeared headed for a weekend tee time at the Masters, barely. The 2007 Masters champion had struggled on a windy day on Friday -- the whole field struggled, really -- but he thought he had done just well enough with a 6-over 78 to make the cut.

So why didn't he?

After the round, Augusta National officials alerted Johnson to a potential violation of the Rules of Golf on the 13th hole. Johnson's third shot to the par 5 wound up in the water hazard in front of the green, and the reigning Open champion chose to play his ball out of the hazard. However, in his backswing, he grazed the water, which is considered grounding the club in a hazard under Rule 13-4. Johnson was subject to a two-stroke penalty.

Johnson agreed, added two strokes and signed for an 80. Instead of making the cut on the number, he missed by two shots.

The Sea Island, Ga., resident reacted on Twitter:


New subscribers to our weekly email newsletter from October 15 through December 15 will be entered to win a pair of PeakVision sunglasses of their choice! PeakVision's Dual Zone technology prevents glare while offering unparalleled clarity that's perfect for golfers. The patented PeakVision lens enhances the golfer's ability to see the contours of the greens better with high-definition amber lens which provide three times the definition than the naked eye, and we want you to experience the difference for yourself. (Rules and regulations)

About the author

Golf News Net

Golf News Net

We use the Golf News Net byline sometimes just to change things up. But, it's one of us humans writing the story, we promise.

Sometimes we post sponsored content from this account, and it is labeled as such. We also occasionally include links to products and services from which we could make a small percentage of a sale through affiliate programs.