Arnold Palmer will not hit Masters ceremonial tee shot
Masters

Arnold Palmer will not hit Masters ceremonial tee shot


SHARE THIS STORY



Arnold Palmer will not hit a ceremonial tee shot to kick off the Masters.

Golf World's Tim Rosaforte reported Tuesday morning that the 86-year-old will not participate in the first-tee event for the first time since becoming a part of it in 2007. Palmer still plans to attend the year's first major and take part in the annual Champions Dinner on the Tuesday prior to the tournament.



Palmer, who injured his shoulder in December 2014 and still hits few golf balls, informed Augusta National chairman Billy Payne of his decision on Monday, according to Rosaforte.

For the last three years, the Big Three have participated in the ceremony together. Jack Nicklaus joined Palmer in 2010 and Gary Player rounded out the group in 2012.

SUBSCRIBE AND WIN PEAKVISION SUNGLASSES!

New subscribers to our weekly email newsletter from October 15 through December 15 will be entered to win a pair of PeakVision sunglasses of their choice! PeakVision's Dual Zone technology prevents glare while offering unparalleled clarity that's perfect for golfers. The patented PeakVision lens enhances the golfer's ability to see the contours of the greens better with high-definition amber lens which provide three times the definition than the naked eye, and we want you to experience the difference for yourself. (Rules and regulations)


About the author

Golf News Net

Golf News Net

We use the Golf News Net byline sometimes just to change things up. But, it's one of us humans writing the story, we promise.

Sometimes we post sponsored content from this account, and it is labeled as such. We also occasionally include links to products and services from which we could make a small percentage of a sale through affiliate programs.