Keegan Bradley had to add two strokes to his opening-round score on Thursday at the Waste Management Phoenix Open after incurring a penalty for playing with one too many clubs.
Under the Rule 4-4 of the Rules of Golf, a player is only allowed to carry 14 clubs in their bag. Bradley played the first hole at TPC Scottsdale with a 15th club, realizing it before he started the second hole.
STORY CONTINUES BELOW
Keegan hit w/ 2-shot penalty, too many clubs in bag. Realized after 1st hole. Forgot to take out 3i or hybrid. Shot 68, 3 off early lead.
— Brian Wacker (@pgatour_brianw) February 4, 2016
The full text of the rule in question says a player is penalized two strokes per hole played with the extra clubs up to a penalty of four strokes. (So there's technically an incentive to just keep on going after two holes.) Bradley avoided the extra penalty, ultimately shooting 5-under 66 and tacking on two extra strokes to shoot 68, which leaves him three shots behind Rickie Fowler, Shane Lowry and Hideki Matsuyama after play was suspended due to darkness.
We're certain Bradley will be double-checking caddie Steve "Pepsi" Hale's math on Friday.
THAT WAS FUN, RIGHT?!
Get more from GNN in your inbox, including great deals and contests!
If your email address disappears, it worked! We'll never sell your info.