2015 U.S. Presidents Cup team: 10 qualifiers and two captain's picks
Jordan Spieth Stalker PGA Tour

2015 U.S. Presidents Cup team: 10 qualifiers and two captain’s picks

The U.S. Presidents Cup team got 10 of its 12 players on Monday, with qualifying for Jay Haas's Korea-bound team wrapping after the Deutsche Bank Championship.

These 10 players made it on the basis of FedEx Cup points accrued over the last 20 months: Jordan Spieth, Bubba Watson, Jimmy Walker, Zach Johnson, Jim Furyk, Rickie Fowler, Dustin Johnson, Patrick Reed, Matt Kuchar and Chris Kirk.

No players earned an automatic spot in the final event at TPC Boston, leaving Haas' son, Bill, as the first man out of the automatic qualifying. Dad picked his son with one of his two captain's picks on Tuesday.

Phil Mickelson, who wasn't inside the top 25 in points, was gifted the second pick. Mickelson has never missed a Presidents Cup since the event's inception in 1994.

International captain Nick Price will fill out his roster on Tuesday as well, adding to the 10 players who qualified based on their current standing in the Official World Golf Ranking. Those players are: Jason Day, Louis Oosthuizen, Adam Scott, Hideki Matusyama, Branden Grace, Marc Leishman, Anirban Lahiri, Charl Schwartzel, Thongchai Jaidee and Danny Lee.

Steven Bowditch and Sang-moon Bae were named Price's wild-card picks on Tuesday.

The U.S. has only lost once since the Presidents Cup started, back in 1998 at Royal Melbourne. The teams tied once in 2003 in South Africa. Korea will host the event for the first time when the event starts Oct. 8.

About the author


Golf News Net

We use the Golf News Net byline sometimes just to change things up. But, it's one of us humans writing the story, we promise.

Sometimes we post sponsored content from this account, and it is labeled as such.

We also occasionally include links to products and services from merchants of our choice. GNN may earn a commission from sales generated by those links. See more in GNN's affiliate disclosure.