Royal Birkdale gets 2017 Open Championship, Carnoustie in 2018
Open Championship

Royal Birkdale gets 2017 Open Championship, Carnoustie in 2018

The Open Championship rotation is all set through 2019, with the R&A announcing on Tuesday that it has selected Royal Birkdale to host the 2017 Open with Carnoustie following up a year later.

The announcement was made at a news conference at this week's PGA Tour stop, The Greenbrier Classic.

RELATED: The Open Championship rotation through 2025, confirmed and speculative

Royal Birkdale will host The Open for the 10th time in 2017. Padraig Harrington notched his second-consecutive Open in a four-shot win in 2008. Mark O’ Meara defeated Brian Watts in a playoff for the Claret Jug in 1998, capping off a two-major season. Other Birkdale Open champions include Ian Baker-Finch (1991), Peter Thomson (1954, '65), Arnold Palmer (1961), Lee Trevino (1971) and Johnny Miller (1976).

Carnoustie gets the Open for the eighth time a year later. The Irishman Harrington also was the last to win an Open here, doing so in a playoff over Sergio Garcia in 2007. Before that, Paul Lawrie came back from 10 shots down in the final round to win in a playoff over Jean van de Velde and Justin Leonard. Ben Hogan won the Claret Jug in his only Open Championship appearance on this course in 1953.

About the author


Golf News Net

We use the Golf News Net byline sometimes just to change things up. But, it's one of us humans writing the story, we promise.

Sometimes we post sponsored content from this account, and it is labeled as such.

We also occasionally include links to products and services from merchants of our choice. GNN may earn a commission from sales generated by those links. See more in GNN's affiliate disclosure.

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment