2019 American Century Championship: Celebrities in the field, purse, format, TV times
Golf Culture

2019 American Century Championship: Celebrities in the field, purse, format, TV times


The 2019 American Century Championship field is filled with celebrities, as the 29th annual NBC-run event at Lake Tahoe in Nevada starts on Friday with the beginning of the 54-hole event.

Edgewood Tahoe Golf Course again hosts as vacationers will roll up on the beach and water, while the players in the field compete for a $600,000 purse in an event played under the Modified Stableford scoring system.

The field is filled with celebrities and athletes from all walks of life, mostly with a connection to sports.

Celebrities in the 2019 American Century Championship field

  • Marcus Allen, NFL Hall of Famer
  • Ray Allen, NBA Hall of Famer
  • Josh Allen, Buffalo Bills QB
  • Bret Baier, Fox News anchor
  • Charles Barkley, NBA Hall of Famer
  • Brian Baumgartner, "The Office" actor
  • Jerome Bettis, former NFL running back
  • Jay Bilas, former player, ESPN college basketball analyst
  • Tim Brown, NFL Hall of Famer
  • Reggie Bush, former NFL All-Pro
  • Vince Carter, Sacramento Kings guard
  • Roger Clemens, former MLB All-Star
  • Lisa Cornwell, former player/"Golf Central" host
  • Steph Curry, Golden State Warriors guard
  • Dell Curry, former NBA player
  • Andy Dalton, Cincinnati Bengals QB
  • Johnny Damon, former MLB player
  • Terrell Davis, former NFL player
  • Vinny Del Negro, former NBA coach
  • Jay Demarcus, singer/musician – Rascal Flatts
  • Trent Dilfer, former NFL All-Pro
  • Dylan Dreyer, NBC News meteorologist
  • Herm Edwards, Arizona State college football coach
  • Tyler Eifert, Cincinnati Bengals TE
  • Mardy Fish, Olympic Silver Medalist: Tennis
  • Larry Fitzgerald, Arizona Cardinals WR
  • Bobby Flay, chef/TV personality
  • Doug Flutie, former NFL QB
  • Kyle Fuller, Chicago Bears CB
  • Tom Glavine, MLB Hall of Famer
  • Robbie Gould, San Francisco 49ers K
  • Rodney Harrison, former NFL All-Pro safety
  • A.J. Hawk, NFL Pro Bowl linebacker
  • Trevor Hoffman, former MLB All-Star
  • Andre Iguodala, Memphis Grizzlies forward
  • Kira Kazantsev, Miss America 2015
  • Case Keenum, Washington Redskins QB
  • Travis Kelce, Kansas City Chiefs TE
  • Larry The Cable Guy, actor/comedian
  • Derek Lowe, former MLB All-Star
  • Kyle Lowry, Toronto Raptors guard
  • Anthony Lynn, Los Angeles Chargers coach
  • Greg Maddux, MLB Hall of Famer
  • Joe Mauer, former MLB All-Star
  • Jim McMahon, former NFL All-Pro QB
  • Kevin Millar, former MLB player
  • Bode Miller, Olympic Gold Medalist skier
  • Mike Modano, NHL Hall of Famer
  • Mark Mulder, former MLB All-Star
  • Matt Nagy, Chicago Bears coach
  • Jordy Nelson, former NFL player
  • John O’Hurley, actor
  • T.J. Oshie, Washington Capitals forward
  • Carson Palmer, former NFL quarterback
  • Joe Pavelski, Dallas Stars
  • Sean Payton, New Orleans Saints coach
  • Doug Pederson, Philadelphia Eagles coach
  • Patrick Peterson, Arizona Cardinals
  • Frank Reich, Indianapolis Colts
  • Alfonso Ribeiro, actor
  • Jerry Rice, NFL Hall of Famer
  • Rob Riggle, actor/comedian
  • Aaron Rodgers, Green Bay Packers QB
  • Ivan Rodriguez, former MLB All-Star
  • Jeremy Roenick, former NHL All-Star
  • Jimmy Rollins, former MLB MVP
  • Ray Romano, actor/comedian
  • Tony Romo, former Pro Bowl QB/NFL analyst
  • Joe Don Rooney, singer/musician: Rascal Flatts
  • Kyle Rudolph, Minnesota Vikings TE
  • Bret Saberhagen, former MLB All-Star
  • Tyler Seguin, Dallas Stars center
  • Sterling Sharpe, former NFL All-Pro
  • Ozzie Smith, MLB Hall of Famer
  • John Smoltz, MLB Hall of Famer
  • Kathryn Tappen, host of "NHL on NBC"
  • Golden Tate, Detroit Lions WR
  • Miles Teller, actor
  • Joe Theismann, former NFL QB
  • Adam Thielen, Minnesota Vikings WR
  • Justin Timberlake, singer/songwriter/actor
  • Brian Urlacher, former NFL Pro Bowl LB
  • Shane Victorino, former MLB All-Star
  • Mike Vrabel, Tennessee Titans coach
  • Jack Wagner, actor
  • Tim Wakefield, former MLB All-Star
  • DeMarcus Ware, former NFL All-Pro
  • Eric Weddle, Los Angeles Rams safety
  • David Wells, former MLB All-Star
  • Kyle Williams, former NFL All-Pro
  • Jerry Woods, USMC Captain/2019 Warrior Open champion
  • Charles Woodson, former NFL All-Pro CB
  • Steve Young, NFL Hall of Famer

2019 American Century Championship purse, winner’s share, prize money payout

The purse for the 2019 American Century Championship is $600,000, with the winner's share being $125,000. Every player in the field is compensated in some way for participating.

  • 1. $125,000
  • 2. $60,000
  • 3. $35,000
  • 4. $25,000
  • 5. $20,000

2019 American Century Championship TV times

The 2019 American Century Championship will air on Friday on NBC Sports Network (NBCSN) at 10-12 p.m. Eastern on tape delay. Then, on Saturday and Sunday, the live coverage moves to NBC Sports from 3-6 p.m. Eastern.

About the author

Ryan Ballengee

Ryan Ballengee is founder and editor of Golf News Net. He has been writing and broadcasting about golf for nearly 20 years. Ballengee lives in the Washington, D.C. area with his family. He is currently a +2.6 USGA handicap, and he has covered dozens of major championships and professional golf tournaments. He likes writing about golf and making it more accessible by answering the complex questions fans have about the pro game or who want to understand how to play golf better.

Ryan talks about golf on various social platforms:

X or Twitter: https://twitter.com/ryanballengee
Facebook: https://facebook.com/ryanballengeegolf
Instagram: https://instagram.com/ryanballengee
YouTube: https://youtube.com/@ryanballengeegolf

Ballengee can be reached by email at ryan[at]thegolfnewsnet.com

Ryan occasionally links to merchants of his choosing, and GNN may earn a commission from sales generated by those links. See more in GNN's affiliate disclosure.