Which father-son duos have won on the PGA Tour?
PGA Tour

Which father-son duos have won on the PGA Tour?


In the history of the PGA Tour, 10 father-son duos have won what are recognized as PGA Tour wins. The most recent father-son duo to complete winning on the PGA Tour is the pair of Bob Tway and his son, Kevin Tway, when Kevin picked up his first PGA Tour win at the 2018 Safeway Open. Bob Tway won his first PGA Tour event in 1986 at the Shearson Lehman Brothers Andy Williams Open, which is now known as the Farmers Insurance Open.

Before the Tways, Kevin Stadler won the 2014 Waste Management Phoenix Open to complete the father-son duo with his dad, Craig Stadler.

On the PGA Tour's official list of father-son winners are two famous pairs who most certainly didn't play on the PGA Tour -- or could even conceive of such a day. Old Tom Morris and Young Tom Morris won the British Open Championship to become the first recognized father-son duo to win on the PGA Tour. However, Willie Park Sr. won the Open a year before Old Tom, but it wasn't until 1887 that his son completed their double.

Father-son duos to win on the PGA Tour

  • Tom Morris, Sr. (1861 British Open Championship) and Tom Morris, Jr. (1868 British Open Championship)
  • Willie Park, Sr. (1860 British Open Championship) and Willie Park, Jr. (1887 British Open Championship)
  • Joe Kirkwood, Sr. (1923 California Open) Joe Kirkwood, Jr. (1949 Philadelphia Inquirer Open)
  • Jack Burke, Sr. (1925 Texas PGA Championship) and Jack Burke, Jr. (1950 Rio Grande Valley Open)
  • Clayton Heafner (1941 Mahoning Valley Open) and Vance Heafner (1981 Walt Disney World National Team Championship with Mike Holland)
  • Julius Boros (1952 US Open) and Guy Boros (1996 Greater Vancouver Open)
  • Al Geiberger (1962 Ontario Open) and Brent Geiberger (1999 Canon Greater Hartford Open)
  • Jay Haas (1978 Andy Williams San Diego Open Invitational) and Bill Haas (2010 Bob Hope Classic)
  • Craig Stadler (1980 Bob Hope Desert Classic) and Kevin Stadler (2014 Waste Manangement Phoenix Open)
  • Bob Tway (1986 Shearson Lehman Brothers Andy Williams Open) and Kevin Tway (2018 Safeway Open)

About the author

Ryan Ballengee

Ryan Ballengee is founder and editor of Golf News Net. He has been writing and broadcasting about golf for nearly 20 years. Ballengee lives in the Washington, D.C. area with his family. He is currently a +2.6 USGA handicap, and he has covered dozens of major championships and professional golf tournaments. He likes writing about golf and making it more accessible by answering the complex questions fans have about the pro game or who want to understand how to play golf better.

Ryan talks about golf on various social platforms:

X or Twitter: https://twitter.com/ryanballengee
Facebook: https://facebook.com/ryanballengeegolf
Instagram: https://instagram.com/ryanballengee
YouTube: https://youtube.com/@ryanballengeegolf

Ballengee can be reached by email at ryan[at]thegolfnewsnet.com

Ryan occasionally links to merchants of his choosing, and GNN may earn a commission from sales generated by those links. See more in GNN's affiliate disclosure.