Who's on 2017 US Presidents Cup team: 10 automatic qualifiers, 2 captain's picks
PGA Tour

Who’s on 2017 US Presidents Cup team: 10 automatic qualifiers, 2 captain’s picks


The 2017 US Presidents Cup team, captained by Steve Stricker, will be made of 12 US-born players, with 10 of them qualifying automatically at the end of the PGA Tour's Dell Technologies Championship on Sept. 4.

The 10 players who automatically make the US team come off of a single points list as of Sept. 4, with the 10 highest-ranked eligible players getting spots.

Stricker made two captain's picks on Sept. 6, picking No. 11 Charley Hoffman, who Kevin Chappell ousted in the final event at TPC Boston, and Phil Mickelson, who has played on every US Ryder Cup and Presidents Cup team dating back to 1993.

2017 International Presidents Cup team qualifiers

Just missing out on spots were...

  • 11. Charley Hoffman
  • 12. Brian Harman
  • 13. Jason Dufner
  • 14. Gary Woodland
  • 15. Phil Mickelson

About the author

Ryan Ballengee

Ryan Ballengee is founder and editor of Golf News Net. He has been writing and broadcasting about golf for nearly 20 years. Ballengee lives in the Washington, D.C. area with his family. He is currently a +2.6 USGA handicap, and he has covered dozens of major championships and professional golf tournaments. He likes writing about golf and making it more accessible by answering the complex questions fans have about the pro game or who want to understand how to play golf better.

Ryan talks about golf on various social platforms:

X or Twitter: https://twitter.com/ryanballengee
Facebook: https://facebook.com/ryanballengeegolf
Instagram: https://instagram.com/ryanballengee
YouTube: https://youtube.com/@ryanballengeegolf

Ballengee can be reached by email at ryan[at]thegolfnewsnet.com

Ryan occasionally links to merchants of his choosing, and GNN may earn a commission from sales generated by those links. See more in GNN's affiliate disclosure.