Willy Wilcox withdrew from the Wells Fargo to avoid a DQ that wasn't going to happen
PGA Tour

Willy Wilcox withdrew from the Wells Fargo to avoid a DQ that wasn’t going to happen

Willy Wilcox withdrew from the Wells Fargo Championship on Saturday because he thought he had committed a rules violation that would get him disqualified. As it turns out, Wilcox didn't have to WD because he wasn't going to be DQ'd.

Let's explain.

Wilcox withdrew from the tournament on Saturday morning because he realized he was finishing up his second round that he was using a different putter than he was using when the round began on Friday. Wilcox thought that violation of Rule 4-4a -- not using the same 14 clubs through a round unless one was damaged in the normal course of play -- would result in a disqualification. As it turns out, the penalty for that rules violation is two strokes per hole per club that wasn't originally in the bag...with a maximum of four strokes. So, Wilcox wouldn't have been disqualified. He would have been penalized four shots.

Wilcox later realized this after the Tour explained to him what his options would be. He would have been five shots off the cut line of 1 over par with four holes to play in his second round.

So, it would have been unlikely Wilcox would have made up that deficit at Eagle Point Golf Club, but he would have had a chance.

Wilcox said he'll next play in Dallas, which would be the AT&T Byron Nelson from May 18-21.

About the author


Golf News Net

We use the Golf News Net byline sometimes just to change things up. But, it's one of us humans writing the story, we promise.

Sometimes we post sponsored content from this account, and it is labeled as such.

We also occasionally include links to products and services from merchants of our choice. GNN may earn a commission from sales generated by those links. See more in GNN's affiliate disclosure.