Colt Knost in danger of missing PGA Championship cut after pin sheet screw-up
PGA Championship

Colt Knost in danger of missing PGA Championship cut after pin sheet screw-up

Credit: Getty Images

Colt Knost is at 2 over par through 36 holes of the 2016 PGA Championship, and he might miss the weekend cut because he had the wrong pin sheet early on Friday.

PGA of America officials had printed and distributed hole location sheets to players for Round 2, but 1.1 inches of overnight rain forced the officials to rethink some locations, which they changed before play began. However, Knost's threesome did not get an updated pin sheet for their first hole of the day, No. 10.

In particular, the hole location had been changed from the planned 20 paces on and 4 from the left to 19 on and 5 from the right. Knost played right of the hole location, thinking it was on left side and that he was making a safety play. He was wrong, and he was short-sided after his 5-wood approach. He made bogey.

“People are going to say we should be able to tell which side of the green it’s on, but I mean, I was 210 yards out and it was raining rather hard. We just expect the pin [sheet] to be right,” Knost said, according to Golf Channel. “It’s a big deal, it’s a big difference. It shouldn’t happen in tournaments like this.”

Ultimately, Knost shot 3-over 73 and got to the halfway mark at 2-over 142. Knost -- also called Big Gravy -- was furious with PGA of America officials. In fact, he tweeted about the issue mid-round while an early morning rain delay halted play as the grounds crew removed water from fairways and greens.

Following that 30-minute delay, officials changed the hole location on No. 8, a short-ish par 4, as well. That means, altogether, three pin sheets were distributed on Friday before the final one was set.

After the round, PGA of America officials offered a statement on the matter and an apology to Knost and his playing partners, Yuta Ikeda, who is in at 3-under 137, and Joe Summerhays, who will miss the cut at 9 over par.

None of the players are entitled to any stroke relief under the Rules of Golf for the mistake.

Knost said Haigh told him directly, "We messed up." But that may not be enough.

“I made bogey there and that could be the difference in me playing tomorrow or not,” Knost said. “I hope it’s not, but that would be pretty frustrating if it is.”

About the author


Golf News Net

We use the Golf News Net byline sometimes just to change things up. But, it's one of us humans writing the story, we promise.

Sometimes we post sponsored content from this account, and it is labeled as such.

We also occasionally include links to products and services from merchants of our choice. GNN may earn a commission from sales generated by those links. See more in GNN's affiliate disclosure.