Dustin Johnson may have broken a rule on the 5th green at the 2016 U.S. Open
U.S. Open

Dustin Johnson may have broken a rule on the 5th green at the 2016 U.S. Open


SHARE THIS STORY

Dustin Johnson may again be the victim of a rules infraction while in contention at a major championship.

Johnson may have broken one of the Rules of Golf on the fifth green at Oakmont Country Club in the final round of the 2016 U.S. Open. After missing a 3-foot birdie putt, Johnson was left with a slightly longer par putt. After taking two short practice strokes next to the ball, Johnson moved his putter blade behind the ball, when the ball moved. Johnson immediately stopped and called over a rules official to discuss the situation.

From the point of view of former USGA executive director David Fay, it appeared Johnson did not cause the ball to move on his own, which would be a one-stroke penalty. However, on the 12th tee, a USGA rules official went up to Johnson and had a discussion with him. Naturally, the first thought is that, upon review, the USGA deemed Johnson to have moved the ball with his practice strokes. However, Fox Sports reports Johnson told them that the official said they will review that again after the round concludes.

If they do decide Johnson caused the ball to move, which, again, seemed not to be the case from replays, Johnson will get a penalty stroke under Rule 18-2b under the Rules of Golf.

You'll recall at the 2010 PGA Championship, Johnson grounded his club in what was deemed a bunker by PGA of America officials at Whistling Straits, leading to a penalty that forced him out of a playoff ultimately won by Martin Kaymer.

After similar incidents to this one at Oakmont, in 2012, the USGA changed Rule 18-2b to indicate that a player would not be penalized if it is "known or virtually certain" that the player didn't cause the ball to move.

Johnson was backed up strongly by his fellow players on Twitter in the aftermath of the announcement that the USGA is reviewing the penalty.

Ultimately, after Johnson had won the U.S. Open by four shots and went into the scoring room to sign his card, the USGA chose to give Johnson the one-stroke penalty. He won the U.S. Open by three shots on 4-under 276.

SUBSCRIBE & WIN TIGER WOODS' BRIDGESTONE GOLF BALLS!

New subscribers to our weekly email newsletter in June will be entered to win 3 dozen limited-edition Tiger Tour B golf balls!

Rules and regulations: By submitting your email address, you agree to join both the Golf News Net and Bridgestone Golf email lists. To be eligible for our prizes, you must remain a subscriber on our list through the end of the contest month. If your email address disappears, it worked!


About the author

Golf News Net

Golf News Net

We use the Golf News Net byline sometimes just to change things up. But, it's one of us humans writing the story, we promise.

Sometimes we post sponsored content from this account, and it is labeled as such. We also occasionally include links to products and services from which we could make a small percentage of a sale through affiliate programs.