Dustin Johnson's brother-slash-caddie, Austin, has a cast on his right wrist -- the result of some undisclosed injury. However, that ailment didn't stop him from carrying D.J.'s bag at The Players Championship. The cast, though, almost cost his brother-slash-boss two strokes on Friday.
On the par-4 fourth hole at the Stadium Course at TPC Sawgrass, Dustin had marked his ball on the green and was trying to hand it to Austin to be cleaned before his turn. Except Dustin dropped the ball and fumbled it couple of fee into the water hazard abutting the green. Under the Rules of Golf, if the ball couldn't be retrieved, Dustin would have needed to take a two-stroke penalty under Rule 15-2 for improperly substituting a ball.
When your little brother drops your ball in the water, he has to go get it (even if he's your caddie)... https://t.co/aBYYmBBZ25
— SkratchTV (@skratchTV) May 13, 2016
So, Austin had no choice. He had to hop in the hazard and retrieve the ball.
Fortunately for Austin, the ball was in shallow water, less than a foot deep. So he only had to get his ankles wet to save a penalty.
SUPPORT GNN IN OUR MISSION TO CHANGE GOLF MEDIA
For just $10 annually, you'll get:
- An ad-free experience
- Exclusive fantasy golf and betting research
- Special discounts and member benefits
- Entry into member-only giveaways
- A USGA handicap for just $20 per year