The wind blew Billy Horschel's ball in the water at the Masters' 15th hole
Golf Culture Masters

The wind blew Billy Horschel’s ball in the water at the Masters’ 15th hole


SHARE THIS STORY

Billy Horschel was blown away on the 15th hole on Saturday at the Masters.

Horschel had replaced his ball on the green at the par 5 and was reading his putt when a gust of wind picked up and pushed his ball down the front slope of the putting surface, down the false front and through the closely-mowed grass back into the water hazard.



Under the Rules of Golf, once a player replaces their ball, even keeping the marker down, anything the ball does because of the wind is considered to have happened on the prior stroke. That meant Horschel was forced to take a drop from the water hazard.

bill-horschel-wind-masters-2

That led to a bogey 6 for Horschel, who fell to 1 over par on the round.


About the author

Golf News Net

Golf News Net

We use the Golf News Net byline sometimes just to change things up. But, it's one of us humans writing the story, we promise.

Sometimes we post sponsored content from this account, and it is labeled as such. We also occasionally include links to products and services from which we could make a small percentage of a sale through affiliate programs.