No, amateur Bryson DeChambeau can't win money at the Masters
Masters

No, amateur Bryson DeChambeau can’t win money at the Masters


SHARE THIS STORY



Reigning U.S. Amateur and NCAA men's individual champion Bryson DeChambeau is making the 2016 Masters his final start as an amateur before turning pro next week ahead of the RBC Heritage.

Of course, that's a little inconvenient now that DeChambeau has jumped into contention at Augusta National. But let's make something very, very clear:



Bryson DeChambeau cannot win money this weekend at the Masters, and he won't earn a paycheck even if he wins.

Any player in any professional tournament has to declare before they start the event if they are a professional or amateur. They have to abide by that declaration until the completion of the tournament. That means that DeChambeau cannot retroactively declare himself a pro, even if he becomes the first amateur to win the Masters.

He's not making any money.


SUBSCRIBE AND WIN PEAKVISION SUNGLASSES!

New subscribers to our weekly email newsletter from October 15 through December 15 will be entered to win a pair of PeakVision sunglasses of their choice! PeakVision's Dual Zone technology prevents glare while offering unparalleled clarity that's perfect for golfers. The patented PeakVision lens enhances the golfer's ability to see the contours of the greens better with high-definition amber lens which provide three times the definition than the naked eye, and we want you to experience the difference for yourself. (Rules and regulations)


About the author

Golf News Net

Golf News Net

We use the Golf News Net byline sometimes just to change things up. But, it's one of us humans writing the story, we promise.

Sometimes we post sponsored content from this account, and it is labeled as such. We also occasionally include links to products and services from which we could make a small percentage of a sale through affiliate programs.