Graeme McDowell penalized at RSM Classic for picking up ball
PGA Tour

Graeme McDowell penalized at RSM Classic for picking up ball


SHARE THIS STORY

Graeme McDowell made an honest mistake on Saturday at The RSM Classic.

After hitting his opening tee shot into the fairway, he got to the ball, bent down and picked it up. That was a no-no.

“I picked it up and Michael Kim is looking at me and I knew immediately,” said McDowell.



Last week's winner in Mexico -- well, technically, he won on Monday -- thought he was playing another round with preferred lies. That cost him a penalty stroke. In fairness, however, McDowell played three of four rounds at the OHL Classic with ball in hand and the first two on St. Simons Island.

“I’ve been doing a lot of lift, clean and place the last three weeks and I literally got into auto pilot,” said McDowell.

However, McDowell still managed to make a par, making a 10-footer on the par-4 opener at the Seaside Course at Sea Island Resort. He trails Kevin Kisner by four shots as 12 under par heading into the final round.

SUBSCRIBE & WIN A BRIDGESTONE GOLF BAG!

New subscribers to our weekly email newsletter in May will be entered to win a Bridgestone Golf Spring edition stand bag!

Rules and regulations: By submitting your email address, you agree to join both the Golf News Net and Bridgestone Golf email lists. To be eligible for our prizes, you must remain a subscriber on our list through the end of the contest month. If your email address disappears, it worked!


About the author

Golf News Net

Golf News Net

We use the Golf News Net byline sometimes just to change things up. But, it's one of us humans writing the story, we promise.

Sometimes we post sponsored content from this account, and it is labeled as such. We also occasionally include links to products and services from which we could make a small percentage of a sale through affiliate programs.

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

GNN PLUS LOGIN