2015 U.S. Walker Cup team completed after U.S. Amateur

2015 U.S. Walker Cup team completed after U.S. Amateur

The 2015 U.S. Walker Cup team is set, with five players being named to the team on Sunday after the U.S. Amateur finished up at Olympia Fields near Chicago.

Oklahoma State product Jordan Niebrugge, who was low amateur at the British Open in July, was named to the team along with University of Virginia grad Denny McCarthy and Robby Shelton. Scott Harvey and Mike McCoy were the two mid-amateurs named to the 10-player team. They join U.S. Amateur and NCAA champion Bryson DeChambeau, Stanford product Maverick McNealey, Hunter Stewart, Texas stud Beau Hossler and Georgia star Lee McCoy, who were already named to the team.

Niebrugge is the only holdover from the 2013 U.S. team, which the U.S. won 17-9.

The biennial matches, first played in 1922, pit the U.S. team against a similar 10-player squad from Great Britain and Ireland. The matches will unfold Sept. 12-13 at Royal Lytham & St. Annes. The U.S. has won four of the last five matches in the series