Anirban Lahiri wins PGA Championship long-drive contest
PGA Championship PGA Tour

Anirban Lahiri wins PGA Championship long-drive contest

Anirban Lahiri won the PGA Championship long-drive contest on Tuesday, booming a 327-yard drive on the par-5 second hole at Whistling Straits to earn the victory.

PGA Professional National champion Matt Dobyns finished in second place with a drive of 323 yards, while J.B. Holmes finished third with a 315-yard drive. Jimmy Walker was fourth, just a yard behind Holmes, while Jordan Spieth was another yard behind Walker.

For the drives to count toward the contest results, the ball had to come to a stop in the fairway at the hole nicknamed "Big Country."

Lahiri, Dobyns and Holmes each win a money clip that's a replica of the one Jack Nicklaus won at the 1963 PGA Championship long-drive competition. Each will have a $25,000, $20,000 and $15,000 donation made, respectively, in their name to the charity of their choice.

“It’s helps to be able to drive it right to left. I hit a good one and got a good bounce," the 28-year-old Lahiri said. "Now that I have a money clip, it’s going to be on me all week.”

Louis Oosthuizen won the event last year at Valhalla with a 340-yard poke.

-- Ryan Ballengee reporting from Haven, Wis.

About the author


Golf News Net

We use the Golf News Net byline sometimes just to change things up. But, it's one of us humans writing the story, we promise.

Sometimes we post sponsored content from this account, and it is labeled as such.

We also occasionally include links to products and services from merchants of our choice. GNN may earn a commission from sales generated by those links. See more in GNN's affiliate disclosure.

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment