What is The Players Championship playoff format?
PGA Tour

What is The Players Championship playoff format?

If The Players Championship goes to a playoff, it will be the first time the PGA Tour's crown jewel will be decided under a new playoff format announced last year.

In the event of a 72-hole tie at TPC Sawgrass, the playoff competitors will play the par-5 16th, par-3 17th and par-4 18th -- sometimes called The Gauntlet -- in order, with the best aggregate score winning the title.

If, after those three holes, any playoff competitors are tied, then the format changes to sudden death, with the remaining players returning to No. 17, followed by 18-16-17-18 until a winner has been decided.

Previously, if The Players went to a playoff, it had been decided in a sudden-death playoff starting at No. 17. There have been three playoffs at The Players since it moved to TPC Sawgrass, with Sergio Garcia defeating Paul Goydos in 2008 and K.J. Choi beating David Toms in 2011 on the first hole.

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment