What is Modified Stableford scoring used at the Barracuda Championship?
PGA Tour

What is Modified Stableford scoring used at the Barracuda Championship?

The Barracuda Championship is the only PGA Tour stroke-play event that uses the Modified Stableford scoring system.

So what is the Modified Stableford scoring system?

It's a version of stroke or medal play that awards points based on how a player scores against par on each hole. Here's how the points are distributed at the Barracuda Championship.

Modified Stableford scoring system points

  • Albatross: 8 points
  • Eagle: 5 points
  • Birdie: 2 points
  • Par: 0 points
  • Bogey: -1 points
  • Double bogey or worse: -3 points

The player with the highest total after 72 holes wins.

The format promotes risk-taking because there is a limit on what can be lost (players can pick up when they know they're going to make no better than double bogey), while only awarding points to those that can go low. It works well at Montreux Golf and Country Club, whose nines were switched a few years back to end with an exciting stretch to promote aggression.

The former International in Colorado used the Modified Stableford system until it went defunct in 2006. No tournament had used it since.

About the author

Ryan Ballengee

Ryan Ballengee is founder and editor of Golf News Net. He has been writing and broadcasting about golf for over a decade, working for NBC Sports, Golf Channel, Yahoo Sports and SB Nation. Ballengee lives in the Washington, D.C. area with his family. He used to be a good golfer.

Ballengee can be reached by email at ryan[at]thegolfnewsnet.com


Click here to post a comment