WATCH: Shanshan Feng shocked when wind blows her ball in the hole...and it counts!
Golf Culture LPGA Tour

WATCH: Shanshan Feng shocked when wind blows her ball in the hole…and it counts!


Way more often than we'd like to count, we share you video of the horrible things the wind does to golfers, particularly when their balls are on the green. This isn't one of those kinds of stories.

For once, the wind did something to help a putt.

Shanshan Feng had just missed her birdie putt on the 17th hole in the final round of the Swinging Skirts LPGA Classic. She was bummed to have missed the putt and walked up quickly after it to tap in for par. However, before she could finish out, the wind did it for her, blowing her ball 3 inches into the hole.

Feng is stunned, and she has no idea if she's going to get a penalty for putting her putter behind the ball as the wind affects it. However, under the Rules of Golf, whatever the wind does to a ball placed on the green counts related to the prior stroke. In other words, since Feng never made the par putt, it goes down as a birdie.

About the author

Ryan Ballengee

Ryan Ballengee is founder and editor of Golf News Net. He has been writing and broadcasting about golf for nearly 20 years. Ballengee lives in the Washington, D.C. area with his family. He is currently a +2.6 USGA handicap, and he has covered dozens of major championships and professional golf tournaments. He likes writing about golf and making it more accessible by answering the complex questions fans have about the pro game or who want to understand how to play golf better.

Ryan talks about golf on various social platforms:

X or Twitter:

Ballengee can be reached by email at ryan[at]

Ryan occasionally links to merchants of his choosing, and GNN may earn a commission from sales generated by those links. See more in GNN's affiliate disclosure.