Tiger Woods can't remember the tournaments he's won in 2013
PGA Tour Tiger Woods News

Tiger Woods can’t remember the tournaments he’s won in 2013

You know you're good at golf when you can't remember all of your wins. Meet Tiger Woods, everybody.

Woods was responding to a question at a news conference ahead of the Tour Championship on Wednesday when he began to recount his five wins on the season.

"I won some big events this year: two World Golf Championships, a Players," and then Woods paused to recall the others, "Jack and Arnold's tournament. So I think that's been a pretty good year."

Woods had four of the five right, but his 2013 PGA Tour wins came at the Farmers Insurance Open, Arnold Palmer Invitational, WGC-Cadillac Championship, The Players Championship and WGC-Bridgestone Invitational.

Turns out, Woods didn't win Jack Nicklaus' event, the Memorial Tournament. In fact, he turned in his worst nine-hole score in his PGA Tour career on Saturday, shooting a 8-over 44 in the third round. Woods must have been remembering that he won the Memorial in 2012. And 2009. And from 1999-2001.

At the Memorial Tournament, Kenny Perry is the only other player to have won the event more than twice. Perry won it three times in his career.

For most players, they remember every single shot of every single win -- however precious -- in their careers. Then again, most never win. Many win once or twice. Only eight other players on the PGA Tour right now have even 10 wins, Zach Johnson becoming the latest to join that club on Monday at the BMW Championship.

Tiger Woods has 79 PGA Tour wins in his career, just three shy of tying Sam Snead for the most in PGA Tour history. Since it's almost impossible to know all of Tiger Woods' PGA Tour wins by heart, here are all the PGA Tour events Tiger Woods has won at least twice.

  • WGC-Bridgestone Invitational - 8 wins
  • Arnold Palmer Invitational - 8 wins
  • WGC-Cadillac Championship - 7 wins
  • Farmers Insurance Open - 7 wins
  • BMW Championship - 5 wins
  • The Memorial Tournament - 5 wins
  • The Masters - 4 wins
  • PGA Championship - 4 wins
  • U.S. Open - 3 wins
  • Open Championship - 3 wins
  • WGC-Accenture Match Play - 3 wins
  • Buick Open - 3 wins
  • The Players Championship - 2 wins
  • The Tour Championship - 2 wins
  • Ford Championship at Doral - 2 wins
  • Walt Disney World Classic - 2 wins

About the author


Ryan Ballengee

Ryan Ballengee is founder and editor of Golf News Net. He has been writing and broadcasting about golf for over a decade, working for NBC Sports, Golf Channel, Yahoo Sports and SB Nation. Ballengee lives in the Washington, D.C. area with his family. He used to be a good golfer.

Ballengee can be reached by email at ryan[at]thegolfnewsnet.com

Ryan occasionally links to merchants of his choosing, and GNN may earn a commission from sales generated by those links. See more in GNN's affiliate disclosure.

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment