Who's in the 2013 British Open Championship field?
European Tour Featured Open Championship PGA Tour

Who’s in the 2013 British Open Championship field?

The following players are either exempt into or have qualified for the 2013 British Open Championship to be played July 18-21 at Muirfield in Scotland.


British Open champions 60 or under on July 21: Ernie Els, Darren Clarke, Louis Oosthuizen, Stewart Cink, Padraig Harrington, Tiger Woods, Todd Hamilton, Ben Curtis, David Duval, Paul Lawrie, Mark O'Meara, Justin Leonard, Tom Lehman, Nick Faldo, Mark Calcavecchia, Sandy Lyle

British Open champions who finished in the top 10 in the last five championships: Tom Watson

Top 10 and ties from the 2012 British Open: Adam Scott, Brandt Snedeker, Luke Donald, Graeme McDowell, Nicolas Colsaerts, Thomas Aiken, Geoff Ogilvy, Miguel Angel Jimenez, Ian Poulter, Alexander Noren, Vijay Singh, Dustin Johnson, Matt Kuchar, Thorbjorn Olesen, Zach Johnson

Top 50 in the world ranking on May 26: Keegan Bradley, Tim Clark, Jason Day, Jamie Donaldson, Jason Dufner, Gonzalo Fernandez-Castano, Rickie Fowler, Jim Furyk, Sergio Garcia, Robert Garrigus, Branden Grace, Bill Haas, Peter Hanson, Thongchai Jaidee, Martin Kaymer, David Lynn, Hunter Mahan, Matteo Manassero, Rory McIlroy, Phil Mickelson, Francesco Molinari, Ryan Moore, Carl Pettersson, Scott Piercy, D.A. Points, Justin Rose, Charl Schwartzel, Webb Simpson, Henrik Stenson, Kevin Streelman, Michael Thompson, Bo Van Pelt, Nick Watney, Bubba Watson, Lee Westwood

Top 30 from the 2012 Race to Dubai on the European Tour: Marcel Siem, Rafael Cabrera-Bello, George Coetzee, Bernd Wiesberger, Danny Willett, Marcus Fraser, Richie Ramsay, Shane Lowry

Top 5 players not otherwise exempt from the top 20 in the Race to Dubai through the French Open: Richard Sterne, Brett Rumford, Mikko Ilonen, Thomas Bjorn, Marc Warren

Scottish Open champion: TBD

U.S. Open champions of the last 5 years: Lucas Glover

Masters champions of the last 5 years: Angel Cabrera

PGA Championship winners of the last 5 years: Y.E. Yang

The Players Championship winners of the last 3 years: K.J. Choi

Field from the 2012 Tour Championship: John Senden, John Huh

Top 5 PGA Tour members from among the top 20 in the FedEx Cup through The Greenbrier Classic: Billy Horschel, Boo Weekley, Russell Henley, Jimmy Walker, Harris English

John Deere Classic winner: TBD

Winner of the Order of Merit on the Asian Tour: Thaworn Wiratchant

Winner of the Order of Merit on the Australasian Tour: Peter Senior

2012 Japan Open champion: Kenichi Kuboya

Top two players from the Japan Golf Tour money list in 2012: Hiroyuki Fujita, Toru Taniguchi

Top four players not otherwise exempt from the 2013 Mizuno Open: Brendan Jones, Shingo Katayama, K.T. Kim, Makoto Inoue

Top two players and ties in a money list of all 2013 Japan Golf Tour events through the Mizuno Open: Satoshi Kodaira, Hyung-Sung Kim

Senior British Open champion: Fred Couples

British Amateur champion: Garrick Porteous (a)

U.S. Amateur champion: Steven Fox (a)

European Amateur champion: Rhys Pugh (a)


International Final Qualifying (Australasia): Mark Brown, Steven Jeffress, Stephen Dartnall

International Final Qualifying (Africa): Justin Harding, Eduardo De La Silva, Darryn Lloyd

International Final Qualifying (Asia): Kiradech Aphibarnrat, Hideki Matsuyama, Daisuke Maruyama, Ashun Wu

International Final Qualifying (America): Josh Teater, Brian Davis, Camilo Villegas, Robert Karlsson, Luke Guthrie, Bud Cauley, Johnson Wagner, Scott Brown

International Final Qualifying (Europe): Brooks Koepka, Oliver Fisher, Gregory Bourdy, Richard McEvoy, Gareth Maybin, Alvaro Quiros, Niclas Fasth, Scott Jamieson, Estanislao Goya

Local Final Qualifying: Grant Forrest (a), Shiv Kapur, John Wade, a-Ben Stow, Oscar Floren, Matthew Fitzpatrick (a), Jimmy Mullen (a), Gareth Wright, George Murray, Steven Tiley, Lloyd Saltman, Tyrrell Hatton

Alternates: Jonas Blixt, Martin Laird, Freddie Jacobson, Marc Leishman, Graham DeLaet, Kyle Stanley, Chris Wood, Ken Duke, Stephen Gallacher

Reserves: Scott Stallings, Joost Luiten, Charles Howell III, Brendon de Jonge, David Lingmerth, Ryan Palmer, Sang-moon Bae, Kevin Chappell, Pablo Larrazabal

About the author


Ryan Ballengee

Ryan Ballengee is founder and editor of Golf News Net. He has been writing and broadcasting about golf for over a decade, working for NBC Sports, Golf Channel, Yahoo Sports and SB Nation. Ballengee lives in the Washington, D.C. area with his family. He used to be a good golfer.

Ballengee can be reached by email at ryan[at]thegolfnewsnet.com

Ryan occasionally links to merchants of his choosing, and GNN may earn a commission from sales generated by those links. See more in GNN's affiliate disclosure.

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment