Zozo Championship history, results and past winners
PGA Tour

Zozo Championship history, results and past winners

The Zozo Championship is the PGA Tour's Japan event, with the tournament having been played at different points in the schedule though now it's currently played in the fall portion of the schedule.

The event, which was first played in 2019, has been slated to be played in Japan. It is co-sanctioned with the Japan Golf Tour.

The event moved in 2020, however, in response to the COVID-19 pandemic and travel restrictions it created in Japan.

Tiger Woods won the inaugural edition of the event, with no repeat winners to this point in its short history.

Zozo Championship format

The Zozo Championship is played over four days, and there is not a cut for the qualifying field.

The invitational field of 78 players is not reduced to the top 65 and ties for the final two rounds of the event. At the end of the 72-hole event, the lowest score wins.

Zozo Championship host courses

  • 2020: Sherwood Country Club
  • 2019, 2021-present: Silverado Resort (North Course)

Zozo Championship past sponsors

Zozo Championship has had just one sponsor.

  • 2019-present: Zozo Championship

Zozo Championship history & results

2021 Hideki Matsuyama 265 −15 5 $9,950,000
2020 Patrick Cantlay 265 −23 1 $8,000,000
2019 Tiger Woods 261 −19 3 $9,750,000

About the author

Golf News Net

Golf News Net

We use the Golf News Net byline sometimes just to change things up. But, it's one of us humans writing the story, we promise.

Sometimes we post sponsored content from this account, and it is labeled as such.

We also occasionally include links to products and services from merchants of our choice. GNN may earn a commission from sales generated by those links. See more in GNN's affiliate disclosure.