2022 American Century Championship: Celebrities in the field, purse, format, TV times
Golf Culture

2022 American Century Championship: Celebrities in the field, purse, format, TV times

Stephen Curry with Dr. Wayne A. I. Frederick (Credit: Christian Hafer)

The 2022 American Century Championship field is filled with celebrities, as the 32nd annual NBC-run event at Lake Tahoe in Nevada starts on Friday with the beginning of the 54-hole event.

Edgewood Tahoe Golf Course again hosts as vacationers will roll up on the beach and water, while the players in the field compete for a $600,000 purse in an event played under the Modified Stableford scoring system.

The field is filled with celebrities and athletes from all walks of life, mostly with a connection to sports.

Celebrities in the 2022 American Century Championship field

  • Marcus Allen, NFL Hall of Famer
  • Josh Allen, Buffalo Bills quarterback
  • Anthony Anderson, actor and comedian
  • Bret Baier, Fox News anchor
  • Charles Barkley, NBA Hall of Famer
  • Brian Baumgartner, "The Office" actor
  • Jerome Bettis, former NFL running back
  • Jay Bilas, former player, ESPN college basketball analyst
  • Tim Brown, NFL Hall of Famer
  • Joe Buck, ESPN announcer
  • David Carr, former NFL quarterback
  • Derek Carr, Las Vegas Raiders quarterback
  • Vince Carter, NBA all-time great
  • Alex Caruso, Chicago Bulls guard
  • Seth Curry, Dallas Mavericks guard
  • Steph Curry, Golden State Warriors guard
  • Dell Curry, former NBA player
  • Vinny Del Negro, former NBA coach
  • Jay Demarcus, singer/musician – Rascal Flatts
  • Dylan Dreyer, NBC News meteorologist
  • Marshall Faulk, NFL Hall of Famer
  • Mardy Fish, Olympic Silver Medalist: Tennis
  • Larry Fitzgerald, Arizona Cardinals WR
  • Dwight Freeney, former NFL defensive end
  • Tom Glavine, Hall of Fame pitcher
  • Robbie Gould, San Francisco 49ers kicker
  • Robert Griffin III, former NFL quarterback
  • A.J. Hawk, NFL Pro Bowl linebacker
  • Andre Iguodala, NBA champion
  • Nick Jonas, singer
  • Colin Jost, Saturday Night Live lead writer
  • Travis Kelce, Kansas City Chiefs TE
  • Jon Lester, former MLB pitcher
  • Derek Lowe, former MLB All-Star
  • Kyle Lowry, Toronto Raptors guard
  • Patrick Mahomes, NFL MVP quarterback
  • Joe Mauer, future baseball Hall of Famer
  • Pat McAfee, former NFL punter and current media personality
  • Brian McCann, former MLB All-Star
  • Jim McMahon, former NFL All-Pro QB
  • Kevin Millar, former MLB player
  • Mike "The Miz" Mizanan, WWE star
  • Mike Modano, NHL Hall of Famer
  • Mark Mulder, former MLB All-Star
  • Adam Napier, Warrior Open champion
  • John O’Hurley, actor
  • TJ Oshie, Washington Capitals forward
  • Jake Owen, country artist
  • Carson Palmer, former NFL quarterback
  • Joe Pavelski, Dallas Stars forward
  • Michael Pena, actor
  • Patrick Peterson, Arizona Cardinals
  • Alfonso Ribeiro, actor
  • Jerry Rice, NFL Hall of Famer
  • Rob Riggle, actor/comedian
  • Aaron Rodgers, Green Bay Packers QB
  • Ivan Rodriguez, former MLB All-Star catcher
  • Jimmy Rollins, former MLB MVP
  • Ray Romano, actor and comedia
  • Tony Romo, former NFL quarterback and current CBS Sports analyst
  • CC Sabathia, former MLB All-Star
  • Alex Smith, former NFL All-Pro quarterback
  • Emmitt Smith, NFL Hall of Famer
  • John Smoltz, MLB Hall of Famer
  • Annika Sorenstam, legendary golfer
  • Paige Spiranac, golf model and personality
  • Kathryn Tappen, NBC Sports reporter
  • Miles Teller, actor
  • Joe Theisman, former NFL quarterback
  • Adam Thielen, Minnesota Vikings WR
  • Justin Timberlake, entertainer
  • Brian Urlacher, NFL Hall of Famer
  • Chase Utley, former MLB All-Star
  • Shane Victorino, former MLB All-Star
  • Mike Vrabel, Tennessee Titans coach
  • Jack Wagner, actor
  • Tim Wakefield, former MLB All-Star
  • DeMarcus Ware, former NFL All-Pro
  • David Wells, former MLB All-Star
  • Jason Werth, former MLB All-Star
  • Andrew Whitworh, Los Angeles Rams offensive tackle
  • Kyle Williams, former NFL All-Pro
  • Charles Woodson, former NFL All-Pro CB
  • Steve Young, NFL Hall of Famer

2022 American Century Championship purse, winner’s share, prize money payout

The purse for the 2022 American Century Championship is $600,000, with the winner's share being $125,000. Every player in the field is compensated in some way for participating.

  • 1. $125,000
  • 2. $60,000
  • 3. $35,000
  • 4. $25,000
  • 5. $20,000

2022 American Century Championship TV times

The 2022 American Century Championship will air on Friday on Golf Channel on tape delay from 7:30-9:30 p.m. Eastern. Then, on Saturday and Sunday, the live coverage moves to NBC Sports from 2:30-6 p.m. Eastern.

2022 American Century Championship streaming schedule

The 2022 American Century Championship will stream on Friday on Peacock from 4-6 p.m. Eastern. Then, on Saturday and Sunday, the live coverage moves to NBC Sports and Peacock from 2:30-6 p.m. Eastern.

About the author


Golf News Net

We use the Golf News Net byline sometimes just to change things up. But, it's one of us humans writing the story, we promise.

Sometimes we post sponsored content from this account, and it is labeled as such.

We also occasionally include links to products and services from merchants of our choice. GNN may earn a commission from sales generated by those links. See more in GNN's affiliate disclosure.