Race to Dubai champions
European Tour

Race to Dubai champions

The Race to Dubai was first contested in 2009 and, over the course of its short history, has created a fun and exciting way to end the European Tour season.

The format has changed a few times over the years, including the number of players who earn a piece of the bonus pool. However, in 2019, we now have a new system paying out to the top five players in the points race at the end of the DP World Tour Championship.

Rory McIlroy has won the Race to Dubai three times, with Henrik Stenson winning twice. There have been four different winners since 2015.

Race to Dubai champions from 2009-present

  • 2009 -- Lee Westwood
  • 2010 -- Martin Kaymer
  • 2011 -- Luke Donald
  • 2012 -- Rory McIlroy
  • 2013 -- Henrik Stenson
  • 2014 -- Rory McIlroy
  • 2015 -- Rory McIlroy
  • 2016 -- Henrik Stenson
  • 2017 -- Tommy Fleetwood
  • 2018 -- Francesco Molinari

The Race to Dubai champion earns $2 million for taking the season-long series, taking the lot of the $5 million prize fund.

Starting in 2019, the winner of the DP World Tour Championship wins $3 million from an $8 million prize fund. Potentially, the winner could also win the Race to Dubai and earn $5 million in a single day.

About the author


Golf News Net

We use the Golf News Net byline sometimes just to change things up. But, it's one of us humans writing the story, we promise.

Sometimes we post sponsored content from this account, and it is labeled as such.

We also occasionally include links to products and services from merchants of our choice. GNN may earn a commission from sales generated by those links. See more in GNN's affiliate disclosure.

For all of our latest deals, see our GNN Deals site!