When's the last time a golfer won back-to-back US Open titles?
U.S. Open

When’s the last time a golfer won back-to-back US Open titles?

Brooks Koepka holds the trophy after winning during the final round of the 2017 U.S. Open at Erin Hills in Erin, Wis. on Sunday, June 18, 2017. (Copyright USGA/Jason E. Miczek)

Brooks Koepka is the reigning 2017 and 2018 US Open champion, and after becoming a back-to-back US Open champion at Shinnecock Hills, he seeks a third-straight title at Pebble Beach Golf Links in Pebble Beach, Calif.

Coming off a fourth major title at the PGA Championship, Koepka is in a great position to successfully defend his title and win back-to-back-to-back US Open trophies, the Florida State product is not only battling the world No. 1, but he's also fighting an uphill battle against history to extend his run of consecutive US Open titles.

Before Koepka, the last player to win back-to-back US Open titles is Curtis Strange. He won the 1988 and 1989, first winning at The Country Club in Brookline, Mass., with a one-stroke win on 6-under 278 after defeating Nick Faldo in an 18-hole playoff for the title.

In 1989, the US Open moved to Oak Hill Country Club in Rochester, N.Y., and Strange shot the same 278 total to win by a shot over Chip Beck, Mark McCumber and Ian Woosnam. Though Strange shot 278 in both years, his score at Oak Hill was 2 under par.

Before Strange won consecutive US Opens, the last player to do it was Ben Hogan. Hogan won the 1950 and 1951 US Open titles. Curiously, like Strange, Hogan won his back-to-back titles on the same total -- 7-over 287 -- too. Hogan's 1950 US Open win was at Merion Golf Club's East Course in Ardmore, Pa., beating Lloyd Mangrum and George Fazio in an 18-hole playoff. The next year, Hogan beat Clayton Heafner by two strokes at Oakland Hills Country Club near Detroit, Mich.

The only player to win three consecutive US Open titles is the Scot, Willie Anderson, who won four titles in a five-year span, including three in a row from 1903-1905.

Back-to-back US Open winners

  • 2017 and 2018 -- Brooks Koepka
  • 1988 and 1989 -- Curtis Strange
  • 1950 and 1951 -- Ben Hogan
  • 1937 and 1938 -- Ralph Guldahl
  • 1929 and 1930 -- Bobby Jones (a)
  • 1911 and 1912 -- John McDermott
  • 1903, 1904 and 1905 -- Willie Anderson

About the author


Golf News Net

We use the Golf News Net byline sometimes just to change things up. But, it's one of us humans writing the story, we promise.

Sometimes we post sponsored content from this account, and it is labeled as such.

We also occasionally include links to products and services from merchants of our choice. GNN may earn a commission from sales generated by those links. See more in GNN's affiliate disclosure.