2018 WGC-Bridgestone Invitational field: How to qualify, earn exemptions
PGA Tour

2018 WGC-Bridgestone Invitational field: How to qualify, earn exemptions


The 2018 WGC-Bridgestone Invitational field offers a variety of ways into the no-cut tournament, ranging from making the Presidents Cup teams, to getting in the top 50 in the Official World Golf Ranking, to winning specific events on the golf calendar.

A golfer has to be one of the best on the planet to qualify for the WGC-Bridgestone Invitational. They can get a WGC-Bridgestone Invitational exemption if they meet one of these worldwide criteria to get an invitation.

WGC-Bridgestone Invitational qualifying and exemption categories

  1. Playing members of the 2017 U.S. and International Presidents Cup teams: Daniel Berger, Kevin Chappell, Jason Day, Rickie Fowler, Branden Grace, Emiliano Grillo, Adam Hadwin, Charley Hoffman, Dustin Johnson, Kim Si-woo, Kevin Kisner, Brooks Koepka, Matt Kuchar, Anirban Lahiri, Marc Leishman, Hideki Matsuyama, Phil Mickelson, Louis Oosthuizen, Patrick Reed, Charl Schwartzel, Adam Scott, Jordan Spieth, Justin Thomas, Jhonattan Vegas
  2. The top-50 players, including any tied for 50th place, from the Official World Golf Ranking as of July 23: Kiradech Aphibarnrat, Rafael Cabrera-Bello, Patrick Cantlay, Paul Casey, Bryson DeChambeau, Tony Finau, Ross Fisher, Matthew Fitzpatrick, Tommy Fleetwood, Sergio García, Brian Harman, Tyrrell Hatton, Zach Johnson, Satoshi Kodaira, Li Haotong, Luke List, Rory McIlroy, Francesco Molinari, Kevin Na, Alex Norén, Pat Perez, Ian Poulter, Jon Rahm, Justin Rose, Xander Schauffele, Webb Simpson, Cameron Smith, Kyle Stanley, Henrik Stenson, Bubba Watson, Gary Woodland, Tiger Woods
  3. The top-50 players, including any tied for 50th place, from the Official World Golf Ranking as of July 30: Byeong-hun An
  4. Tournament winners since the 2017 WGC-Bridgestone Invitational with an Official World Golf Ranking Strength of Field Rating of 115 points or more: Alexander Björk, Austin Cook, Paul Dunne, Patton Kizzire, Russell Knox, Andrew Landry, Thorbjørn Olesen, Wade Ormsby, Ted Potter Jr., Shubhankar Sharma, Brendan Steele, Brandon Stone, Aaron Wise
  5. The winner of the 2018 Japan Golf Tour Championship: Kodai Ichihara
  6. The winner of the 2017 Bridgestone Open: Ryuko Tokimatsu
  7. The winner of the 2017 Australian PGA Championship: (Cameron Smith)
  8. The winner of the 2018 Dimension Data Pro-Am: Jaco Ahlers
  9. The winner of the 2017 Indonesian Masters: (Justin Rose)


New subscribers to our weekly email newsletter in July will be entered to win 6 Matt Kuchar Bridgestone caps and two dozen Tour B XS golf balls!

Rules and regulations: By submitting your email address, you agree to join both the Golf News Net and Bridgestone Golf email lists. To be eligible for our prizes, you must remain a subscriber on our list through the end of the contest month. If your email address disappears, it worked!

About the author

Golf News Net

Golf News Net

We use the Golf News Net byline sometimes just to change things up. But, it's one of us humans writing the story, we promise.

Sometimes we post sponsored content from this account, and it is labeled as such. We also occasionally include links to products and services from which we could make a small percentage of a sale through affiliate programs.