Dylan Frittelli used a compass at the Mauritius Open, and it's totally legal
European Tour

Dylan Frittelli used a compass at the Mauritius Open, and it’s totally legal

Dylan Frittelli was a winner on the European Tour (and Sunshine Tour and Asian Tour) when he beat Arjun Atwal on the first hole of a playoff to take the 2017 AfrAsia Bank Mauritius Open.

One aspect of the South African's final round that confused a number of people was when Frittelli busted out a compass in the final round to gauge the wind direction.

As it turns out, this technique -- while rarely used -- is completely legal and in accordance with the Rules of Golf. In fact, there's a rule specifically addressing the legality of using a compass: Rule 14-3. Here's Decision 4 under that Rule to explain that it's OK.

14-3/4 Use of Compass During Round

Q. A player uses a compass during a stipulated round to help determine the direction of the wind or the direction of the grain in the greens. Is the player in breach of Rule 14-3?

A. No. A compass only provides directional information and does not gauge or measure variable conditions or assist the player in his play.

I'm not entirely certain why Frittelli wanted to know the direction of the wind. After all, you're trying to feel if it's coming from any direction, it doesn't matter whether it's north, south, east, west or somewhere in between. It really only matters how it feels relative to you and your shot. But, hell, the guy won the tournament, so he must know something we don't.

About the author


Golf News Net

We use the Golf News Net byline sometimes just to change things up. But, it's one of us humans writing the story, we promise.

Sometimes we post sponsored content from this account, and it is labeled as such.

We also occasionally include links to products and services from merchants of our choice. GNN may earn a commission from sales generated by those links. See more in GNN's affiliate disclosure.