Latin America Amateur Championship: Past winners, future sites, TV times

Latin America Amateur Championship: Past winners, future sites, TV times

The Latin America Amateur Championship is an annual prestigious amateur event held in Central and South America with the intent of promoting development of high-level competitive golfers in the region, as well identifying a player who earns a Masters invite by winning the tournament.

The Latin America Amateur Championship was first played in 2015, created in a joint venture of Augusta National Golf Club, the R&A and the U.S. Golf Association following the success and positive influence of the Asia Pacific Amateur Championship, developed by the same trio of organizations.

The championship is a 72-hole, stroke-play tournament, featuring amateur players from Central and South America. Paul Chaplet of Costa Rica won the event in 2016 at the age of 16, making him the event's youngest champion.

Latin America Amateur Championship history: Past winners, futures sites

  • 2015: Matias Dominguez (Chile), Pilar Golf Club, Pilar, Argentina
  • 2016: Paul Chaplet (Costa Rica), Casa de Campo (Teeth of the Dog), La Romana, Dominican Republic
  • 2017: Club de Golf de Panama, Panama City, Panama
  • 2018: Prince of Wales Country Club, Santiago, Chile

2017 Latin America Amateur Championship TV times, schedule

  • Round 1: Jan. 12, 3 p.m. on ESPN2
  • Round 2: Jan. 13, 3 p.m. on ESPN2
  • Round 3: Jan. 14, 1 p.m. on ESPNEWS
  • Round 4: Jan. 15, 1 p.m. on ESPN

About the author


Golf News Net

We use the Golf News Net byline sometimes just to change things up. But, it's one of us humans writing the story, we promise.

Sometimes we post sponsored content from this account, and it is labeled as such.

We also occasionally include links to products and services from merchants of our choice. GNN may earn a commission from sales generated by those links. See more in GNN's affiliate disclosure.