WATCH: Shanshan Feng shocked when wind blows her ball in the hole...and it counts!
Golf Culture LPGA Tour

WATCH: Shanshan Feng shocked when wind blows her ball in the hole…and it counts!


SHARE THIS STORY

Way more often than we'd like to count, we share you video of the horrible things the wind does to golfers, particularly when their balls are on the green. This isn't one of those kinds of stories.

For once, the wind did something to help a putt.



Shanshan Feng had just missed her birdie putt on the 17th hole in the final round of the Swinging Skirts LPGA Classic. She was bummed to have missed the putt and walked up quickly after it to tap in for par. However, before she could finish out, the wind did it for her, blowing her ball 3 inches into the hole.

Feng is stunned, and she has no idea if she's going to get a penalty for putting her putter behind the ball as the wind affects it. However, under the Rules of Golf, whatever the wind does to a ball placed on the green counts related to the prior stroke. In other words, since Feng never made the par putt, it goes down as a birdie.

SUBSCRIBE & WIN TIGER WOODS' BRIDGESTONE GOLF BALLS!

New subscribers to our weekly email newsletter in June will be entered to win 3 dozen limited-edition Tiger Tour B golf balls!

Rules and regulations: By submitting your email address, you agree to join both the Golf News Net and Bridgestone Golf email lists. To be eligible for our prizes, you must remain a subscriber on our list through the end of the contest month. If your email address disappears, it worked!


About the author

Golf News Net

Golf News Net

We use the Golf News Net byline sometimes just to change things up. But, it's one of us humans writing the story, we promise.

Sometimes we post sponsored content from this account, and it is labeled as such. We also occasionally include links to products and services from which we could make a small percentage of a sale through affiliate programs.