Since 1986, it's been very hard to replicate Jack Nicklaus' final round success

Since 1986, it’s been very hard to replicate Jack Nicklaus’ final round success

Before the final round of the 1986 Masters, Jack Nicklaus told his son, and caddie that week, Jackie, that he needed 66 to tie and 65 to win. Jackie encouraged his dad to go get that score. The 18-time major winner did, rallying on the second nine to win a sixth and final green jacket.

Since that magical Sunday, however, just one golfer has shot 65 or better at Augusta National on Sunday and won the Masters: Nick Faldo in 1989, to win the first of consecutive titles.

Len Mattiace Jr. came close in 2004, shooting 65 to get into a playoff with Mike Weir before losing to the Canadian for the title.

Here's a look at each of the last 29 years, the low score for the week and if a player shot 65 or better in the final round:

1987 Larry Mize NO NO 66 (Greg Norman T-2, Roger Maltbie T-4)
1988 Sandy Lyle NO YES 64 (Greg Norman T-5, low of week)
1989 Nick Faldo YES YES 65 (Nick Faldo WON, low of week)
1990 Nick Faldo NO NO 64 (Mike Donald T-47)
1991 Ian Woosnam NO YES 65 (Steve Pate T-4, low of week with Billy Ray Brown)
1992 Fred Couples NO YES 65 (Mark Calcavecchia T-32, low of week Steve Pate, Jeff Sluman)
1993 Bernhard Langer NO NO 66 (Anders Forsband T11)
1994 Jose Maria Olazabal NO NO 66 (Dan Forsman 14th)
1995 Ben Crenshaw NO NO 64 (Jay Haas 3rd)
1996 Nick Faldo NO NO 65 (Phil Mickelson 3rd)
1997 Tiger Woods NO NO 65 (Tiger Woods WON)
1998 Mark O'Meara NO NO 67 (Mark O'Meara WON)
1999 Jose Maria Olazabal NO NO 65 (Steve Pate T-4)
2000 Vijay Singh NO NO 65 (David Duval T-3)
2001 Tiger Woods NO NO 65 (Chris DiMarco T-10)
2002 Tiger Woods NO NO 65 (Vijay Singh T-7)
2003 Mike Weir NO YES 65 (Len Mattiace P-2, low of week)
2004 Phil Mickelson NO NO 66 (Sergio Garcia T-4)
2005 Tiger Woods NO NO 65 (Tiger Woods WON, Trevor Immelman T-5)
2006 Phil Mickelson NO NO 66 (Jose Maria Olazabal T-3)
2007 Zach Johnson NO NO 68 (Padraig Harrington T-7, Paul Casey T-10)
2008 Trevor Immelman NO NO 67 (Steve Flesch T-5)
2009 Angel Cabrera NO NO 65 (Chad Campbell T-2, Anthony Kim T-20)
2010 Phil Mickelson NO YES 65 (Anthony Kim T-3, Nick Watney 7th, low of week)
2011 Charl Schwartzel NO NO 64 (Jason Day T-2)
2012 Bubba Watson NO YES 64 (Bo Van Pelt T-17, low of week)
2013 Adam Scott NO NO 66 (Leishman T-4, Garcia T-8, low of week)
2014 Bubba Watson NO NO 66 (Miguel Angel Jimenez 4th)
2015 Jordan Spieth NO NO 64 (Jordan Spieth WON)

About the author


Golf News Net

We use the Golf News Net byline sometimes just to change things up. But, it's one of us humans writing the story, we promise.

Sometimes we post sponsored content from this account, and it is labeled as such.

We also occasionally include links to products and services from merchants of our choice. GNN may earn a commission from sales generated by those links. See more in GNN's affiliate disclosure.

What Viktor Hovland’s lost golf clubs can teach us about traveling with sticks Vokey SM9 wedges revealed this week on the PGA Tour Trump, PGA of America settle over cancelled PGA Championship The one thing Tiger Woods will never do in a golf tournament The new TaylorMade Stealth driver hits the USGA conforming list