7-year-old golfer is a great sport, gives back trophy after realizing scoring error
Golf Culture

7-year-old golfer is a great sport, gives back trophy after realizing scoring error


SHARE THIS STORY

A 7-year-old golfer from Spain just gave us all a lesson in good sportsmanship and honesty.

Yago Horno Mateo recently won a junior event in his native Andalucia region with a nine-hole score of 50. However, once he had returned home, he realized he had made a math mistake. He had actually shot 51 and hadn't won after all.



Doing the right thing, Mateo penned a letter to the Royal Andalusia Golf Federation to let him know of his mistake, disqualifying himself because his father told him that signing for a lower score was a violation of the Rules of Golf.

Here's a picture of the letter the boy wrote, via the Daily Mail:

letter_600_spanish_kid2

And here's a rough translation:


Hi,
I'm Yago Horno Mateo and my golf license is AM9616788.

On Saturday, March 12, I played in a tournament on Corela Island, which resulted in a score I submitted of 50 strokes.

Looking back on my scorecard with my father, I scored on my card on stroke less. The true score was 51. My father told me that to sign your scorecare in error for less strokes is a disqualification.

I'm giving back the trophy for my competitors who deserve it.

I under that I needed to revise my results before signing my scorecard.

Pretty awesome stuff, kid.

Via Golf Digest

SUBSCRIBE AND WIN PEAKVISION SUNGLASSES!

New subscribers to our weekly email newsletter from October 15 through December 15 will be entered to win a pair of PeakVision sunglasses of their choice! PeakVision's Dual Zone technology prevents glare while offering unparalleled clarity that's perfect for golfers. The patented PeakVision lens enhances the golfer's ability to see the contours of the greens better with high-definition amber lens which provide three times the definition than the naked eye, and we want you to experience the difference for yourself. (Rules and regulations)


About the author

Golf News Net

Golf News Net

We use the Golf News Net byline sometimes just to change things up. But, it's one of us humans writing the story, we promise.

Sometimes we post sponsored content from this account, and it is labeled as such. We also occasionally include links to products and services from which we could make a small percentage of a sale through affiliate programs.