Shane Lowry's WGC-Bridgestone win doesn't get him in the FedEx Cup playoffs

Shane Lowry’s WGC-Bridgestone win doesn’t get him in the FedEx Cup playoffs



Despite breaking through for his first PGA Tour win at the WGC-Bridgestone Invitational, Shane Lowry is not a lock to make the FedEx Cup playoffs.

Lowry's win at Firestone C.C. earns him full membership on the PGA Tour, an upgrade from the special temporary membership he had going into the week. When a non-member wins, their previously earned hypothetical FedEx Cup points become real and can earn them a spot in the FedEx Cup playoffs. However, that rule comes with a caveat.

Hypothetical FedEx Cup points earned by non-members in World Golf Championships events don't count toward status, meaning that the 550 FedEx Cup points Lowry would hypothetically get as the winner this week don't count -- and neither do the points from the WGC-Cadillac Match Play in May.



The Irishman has earned 222 FedEx Cup points through other PGA Tour starts in non-World Golf Championships events this season, and they're now official. However, that points Lowry at about No. 165 in FedEx Cup points. The top 125 qualify for the first leg of the playoffs, giving Lowry a chance at the PGA Championship to lock up a spot in The Barclays in two weeks.

About the author

Golf News Net

We use the Golf News Net byline sometimes just to change things up. But, it's one of us humans writing the story, we promise. Anyway, follow us on social media.

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

GNN PLUS LOGIN