Jack Nicklaus to receive Congressional Gold Medal
Golf Culture

Jack Nicklaus to receive Congressional Gold Medal

Congress actually did something on Tuesday. Specifically, the U.S. Senate put Jack Nicklaus in position to earn the highest civilian honor it can bestow on someone.

The Senate passed a measure, first brought forth in 2012 by Rob Portman and Sherrod Brown from Nicklaus' home state of Ohio, previously passed by the House back in May (May!) by a 371-10 vote to award Nicklaus the Congressional Gold Medal. That measure, curiously enough, heads to President Barack Obama for his sign-off on the measure.

The 74-year-old Nicklaus would join Arnold Palmer as the only golfers to receive the Gold Medal, honoring Americans "who have performed an achievement that has an impact on American history and culture that is likely to be recognized as a major achievement in the recipient's field long after the achievement." We'd say 18 majors and 73 PGA Tour wins would qualify.

Back in 2005, Nicklaus received the Presidential Medal of Freedom, the executive branch's equivalent to the Gold Medal.

About the author


Golf News Net

We use the Golf News Net byline sometimes just to change things up. But, it's one of us humans writing the story, we promise.

Sometimes we post sponsored content from this account, and it is labeled as such.

We also occasionally include links to products and services from merchants of our choice. GNN may earn a commission from sales generated by those links. See more in GNN's affiliate disclosure.

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment