Why was So Yeon Ryu disqualified from the Evian Championship?
LPGA Tour

Why was So Yeon Ryu disqualified from the Evian Championship?


SHARE THIS STORY

So Yeon Ryu was disqualified from the Evian Championship on Friday for a bit of a bizarre reason.

Ryu was on the fourth green at Evian G&CC when she missed a putt and became frustrated. In response, she slammed the putter against her shoe, bending it slightly. She then tapped in the leftover putt. With that putt, the recent CP Canadian Women's Open winner broke Rule 4-3b, using a club damaged outside of the normal course of play.

The 2011 U.S. Women's Open winner had posted 1-under 70 in the opening round.



SUBSCRIBE & WIN A MATT KUCHAR BRIDGESTONE GOLF PACK!

New subscribers to our weekly email newsletter in July will be entered to win 6 Matt Kuchar Bridgestone caps and two dozen Tour B XS golf balls!

Rules and regulations: By submitting your email address, you agree to join both the Golf News Net and Bridgestone Golf email lists. To be eligible for our prizes, you must remain a subscriber on our list through the end of the contest month. If your email address disappears, it worked!


About the author

Golf News Net

Golf News Net

We use the Golf News Net byline sometimes just to change things up. But, it's one of us humans writing the story, we promise.

Sometimes we post sponsored content from this account, and it is labeled as such. We also occasionally include links to products and services from which we could make a small percentage of a sale through affiliate programs.

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment