Bad pair of shades: Oakley penalized because of caddie wife’s gaffe | Golf News Net: Independent golf news and entertainment
Champions Tour

Bad pair of shades: Oakley penalized because of caddie wife’s gaffe


SHARE THIS STORY

Former Senior Open champion Peter Oakley was penalized two shots on Friday at Turnberry after his wife - doubling as caddie - lost track of his golf ball during the second round.

On the 13th hole, Jennifer Oakley apparently lost focus on the correct hole and could not help her husband distinguish between his ball and another landing nearby from a group on the 10th hole.



"I was looking at the wrong fairway," she said later.

A bewildering and quixotic search ensued but the ball could not be identified. Oakley was assessed a two-shot penalty for an "undue delay."

"It came to our attention that Pete Oakley was having some trouble on the 13th hole," said European Tour senior referee Andy McFee.

"He stood by the bunker where his ball had landed for two or three minutes, then there was a couple of minutes wandering up to the tee, then a couple of minutes for the rules official to go and get the caddie from the 10th and bring her back."

Oakley would eventually sign his for an 83 as opposed to 81, making no difference in his prospects to play the weekend.

SUBSCRIBE & WIN A MATT KUCHAR BRIDGESTONE GOLF PACK!

New subscribers to our weekly email newsletter in July will be entered to win 6 Matt Kuchar Bridgestone caps and two dozen Tour B XS golf balls!

Rules and regulations: By submitting your email address, you agree to join both the Golf News Net and Bridgestone Golf email lists. To be eligible for our prizes, you must remain a subscriber on our list through the end of the contest month. If your email address disappears, it worked!


About the author

Adam Fonseca

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment